Advance reader reviews of Talk of the Town

Talk of the Town

by Lisa Wingate

Talk of the Town by Lisa Wingate X
Talk of the Town by Lisa Wingate
  • Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2008
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 2
There are currently 10 member reviews
for Talk of the Town
Order Reviews by:
  • Deb (Belpre OH)


    A tickle your ribs sort of book by an outstanding Christian wordsmith
    I loved this book, Talk of the Town, for a number of reasons, but the main ones are that Daily, TX, is a lot like my little town (I don't think it is a roman a clef), I really enjoy Lisa Wingate's writing, and the book was just downright fun to read. Some might consider the way the book jumps back and forth between viewpoints distracting, but I am not one of them:) It is a highly recommended book in this particular genre.
  • Linda (Houston TX)


    Talk of the Town Review
    I chose this book because I am a transplanted resident of Texas, having come from Nebraska. I thought it was a sweet book and the characters are really fun. There isn't much substance here, just mindless entertainment, good for a night in front of the fireplace with a blanket and a kitty. Unfortunately, I haven't met anyone like the people in the book since I have lived in Houston --:)
  • Julie (Menomonee Falls WI)


    Surprise
    When I got this book, I had low expectations. The cover and summary made the book seem like chick-lit, which is not at all my style. I was very ready to not like this book. So imagine my surprise when I found myself enjoying it. I loved how fully the author developed her characters, and I fell in love with all of them. She even made me appreciate small towns. This book was funny and heartwarming.
    The story made me think a lot about a life lived without taking chances.
  • Marta (Santa Ana CA)


    Small town gossip...big city gossip
    I really enjoyed reading Talk of the Town by Lisa Wingate. It was a sweet story and the plot was predictable. What I really liked was the characters. I wanted to actually meet the two main characters and be friends with them. It was a Christian book but wasn't preachy - just fun and full of truths to live by. I liked this book so much that I am going to read more of Ms. Wingate's books.
  • Madeline (Sarasota FL)


    A Nice Story
    This is an old-fashioned, wholesome type story with the modern twist of reality TV. It's a light and predictable read, but it's sweet, without being sappy, and its characters are fun and feisty. The scene with Imagene and the roller coaster is a hoot!
  • Carolyn (Summerville SC)


    Not exactly the talk of the town
    This is a pleasant story told with humor. There are some interesting characters, although the reader never really learns very much about one significant man. The two main characters who narrate the book both refer occasionally to their belief in God, and the need to accept God's hand in their lives. I don't think this novel offers much fuel for book club discussion, but is fine for someone who wants to spend a few hours reading a light romance.
  • Mary (Duluth MN)


    Talk of the Town
    I found this book to be a fun story. It reminded me of a cross between Lorna Landvik and Jan Karon's style of writing. There were a spots where I thought the story could move along a little quicker, however I was never actually bored. The author's description of characters was humorous and made me care about the outcome of the story.
    Mary
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.