Advance reader reviews of Learning to Lose

Learning to Lose

A Novel

by David Trueba

Learning to Lose
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2010
    608 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 member reviews
for Learning to Lose
Order Reviews by:
  • Hydee F. (Salt Lake City, Utah)


    Learning to Lose
    I procrastinated in starting this book because I didn't think I was going to enjoy it, but I was very, very wrong. I could not put this book down once I started it!

    Trueba writes in such a raw, and real way, revealing the best and worst of each of his characters in a way that makes you feel compassion for them and their story. I was actually embarrassed for them at times. Each of the character's stories were enthralling, but in the end, I wanted more of Sylvia! I want to watch this young woman grow up and see how the rest of her journey turns out.

    This was a marvelous read, I wish more of Mr. Trueba's work was translated to English!
  • Claire M. (Hilton Head, SC)


    Learning to Lose
    A great read! A story of 3 generations of a Spanish family in Madrid and the ramifications of choices they’ve made. Fate has certainly set before them incidents that lead to those choices and the questions of immigration and sport as business are issues in the background.

    Lorenzo retreats from Aurora's impending death by becoming overly fascinated with an African prostitute. Leandro, who has murdered his former business partner and whose wife Pilar has left him, becomes involved with an Ecuadoran au pair and daughter Sylvia is hit by a car driven by Ariel, a newly arrived Argentinean soccer player. The novel centers primarily on where the choices lead Lorenzo, Leandro, Sylvia and Ariel.

    The questions and problems of each couple are timeless and Trueba (with his able translator) has written a beautiful novel, which speaks to the truth of who we are and how we define, or are defined by, our relationships. This is a novel to be read by anyone who likes to keep up with European literature as well as book clubs interested in exploring generational choices in living, and finding comfort in life.
  • Patricia K. (Los Angeles, California)


    Learning to Lose
    I started the book several times, and almost put it down, not getting beyond the first chapter. The third time, I fell in love with this book. The story is told of four connected characters, from different generations, all searching for a lasting human connection.

    Trueba explores themes of immigration, aging, loneliness, and the angst of teenage years against the background of Madrid. His characters are rich and he draws you into caring for them, despite their flaws.

    Overall a very satisfying read.
  • Mary Lou F. (Naples, FL)


    Learning the game
    This book is very well written and the characters are very descriptive. Any one that enjoys soccer or wants to know about the soccer world would really enjoy this book. After reading this book, I appreciate the pressure athletes have put on them, both on and off the field.
  • Christine B. (St Paul, MN)


    Learning to Lose
    This is a poignant and remarkable story about three generations in a family each "learning to lose" some aspect of their identity. What they each learn about themselves and each other is what ties the characters together and relates to all of us as we struggle with our own decisions in life and how we learn to live with their consequences. I highly recommend this book.
  • Cynthia B. (Puyallup, WA)


    Learning to Lose is a Winner!
    The epitome of a page-turner, you continue on even though the alarm is set to go off in 2 hours – but you have to know what happens next, what secret will be revealed, what are the implications? Is it possible to read between your fingers covering your eyes? You bet! Perhaps it is because of his background in screenwriting that Mr. Trueba’s ability to create such vividly real points of view from multiple characters is so well honed – in any case, we can only hope that his previous works will be translated and that more will be available from this very gifted man.
  • Trezeline B. (Columbia, MD)


    What A Book!
    You are introduced to Aurora at the very beginning of the book. She injures her hip while dressing. Her husband, Leandro feels a strange compulsion to visit a house of ill repute and gives in to his lusting. Their 40 something son commits a murder. And his 16 year old daughter is hit by a car driven by a rich soccer player late one night.

    These all work together to force you to keep reading to find out how all of these circumstances work themselves out.

    While reading, I wanted so much to be part of a book club so that I could engage in a good discussion about motivations, life as experienced by the characters and fairness.

    The ending is not expected, yet it satisfies. This is the first time I have read anything by Trueba, a Spanish writer who was translated by Mara Faye Lethem, but I will read his future books. Although translated, it reads very well. This book is a good read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...
  • Book Jacket: My Name Is Leon
    My Name Is Leon
    by Kit De Waal
    Kit de Waal's striking debut, My Name is Leon, has inspired this big, long, complicated question: ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.