Advance reader reviews of The Pirate's Daughter

The Pirate's Daughter

by Margaret Cezair-Thompson

The Pirate's Daughter
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Oct 2007
    432 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 member reviews
for The Pirate's Daughter
Order Reviews by:
  • Jennifer (Tucson AZ)


    Couldn't put it down
    I am an avid Errol Flynn fan, Captain Blood is one of my all time favorite movies, so I just devoured this book. I loved the descriptions of Jamaica and the relationships between the mothers and daughters. Overall, I couldn't wait to come home each night and have this book waiting for me to dive into. The plot is compelling and the backdrop of Jamaica was beautifully described. I think you will really enjoy this juicy, engaging novel.
  • Deborah (Chambersburg PA)


    Family and Identity
    An imaginative, touching book about love, the longing for family, and the search for identity. Both Ida and May are caught among racial identities (African, Chinese, Caucasian) in the changing Jamaica of the 1960s and beyond. The author portrays perfectly the prickly relationship between mother and daughter, especially Ida's need to protect May. Cezair-Thompson writes beautifully, and she clearly has a mastery of Jamaican dialect and customs. I highly recommend this wonderful novel.
  • Colleen (Lakewood CO)


    The Pirate's Daughter
    The Pirate's Daughter is a wonderful, original story. The characters have depth and weight and I found that I could not put the book down. I wanted everything to work out for Ida and May and for all the people of Jamaica. I liked the way the story was written, the changes in both women paralleling the changes in Jamaica's government. I would recommend this book and look forward to other books by this author.
  • Deb (Belpre OH)


    Just a lovely book!
    I would recommend this book to anyone as it has something to offer a reader at many different levels. Family, romance, Hollywood, Jamaica, and the areas where they connect. I was apprehensive about writing a review, but this book made it easy. Please grab a copy!
  • Sandra (Las Vegas NV)


    Hooray for Cezair-Thompson
    I can hardly wait to hear from Margaret Cezair-Thompson again. I was delighted to read a book in which I enjoyed the main characters. I did not always like what they did but I still liked them The supporting characters lent such a wonderful and sometimes frightening background. This is a book not only about mothers and daughters but parents and children. The choices made always bring unexpected results. This is a real page-turner. Enjoy!
  • Phoenix (Eclectic AL)


    Movie stars, pirates and treasures, oh, my!
    This was a thrilling read. It transports you to Jamaica at the glamorous time of Flynn and Monroe and brings you a vision of a young girl's future. We see May transform from a disillusioned tomboy who never gets a chance to have a relationship with her father to a caring and compasionate young woman.

    It is a vacation in Jamaica with a taste of political change and exciting characters. If you are very still, you can feel the breeze and hear the reggae music.

    Don't miss this brilliant novel.
  • Karla (Dana Point CA)


    Cezair-Thompson has a hit!
    The struggle for Jamaica's independence and the mother/daughter give and take seemed parallel. Cezair-Thompson's descriptions of the island and it's inhabitants are wonderful. I felt I was a close observer. All the characters were well developed. What a pleasure to read.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.