Advance reader reviews of The Devil in the Marshalsea

The Devil in the Marshalsea

by Antonia Hodgson

The Devil in the Marshalsea
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jun 2014
    400 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 27 member reviews
for The Devil in the Marshalsea
Order Reviews by:
  • Patricia S. (Yankton, SD)


    a touch of Dickens
    In her first historic mystery, The Devil in the Marshalsea, Antonia Hodgson has crafted a fascinating story in a finely drawn setting, filled with Dickensian style characters. I read far too late into the night, unable to put this book down. It fulfills its opening promise and thoroughly satisfies. The denouement surprises while giving the reader that ah ha, of course moment. Read it, you'll like it.
  • Alan K. (Westport, MA)


    The Devil in the Marshalsea
    Historical fiction set in the streets and debtors' prison in 1720's London. Fascinating material, well defined characters and a page turner. Highly recommend for fans of period pieces and mysteries.
  • Carole L. (Flushing, New York)


    The Devil in the Marshalsea
    What is impressive is that this is the author's debut novel where most of the action takes place in the infamous Marshalsea jail.The author skillfully evokes the oppressive atmosphere of the prison where the protagonist finds himself after being unable to fulfill a debt.

    As well, the characters seem to come alive on the page so much so that the book was hard to put down. There are various plot twists that keep the action moving. At one point, just when I thought I knew who had committed the murders, it turned out not so.

    This is a book that is smartly written and I would highly recommend it. I look forward to reading the author's next book.
  • Mary D. (Claremont, CA)


    The Devil in the Marshalsea
    Based on her debut novel, I would say that Antonia Hodgson has many terrific books in her future. Although the subject matter (life in debtors' jail in 1727) is a bit dark, it was also extremely interesting! The differing sides of the jail, those who could afford to pay for creature comforts vs. those who could not, in addition to those who for a variety of reasons decide to stay in the prison of their own volition, portray a view of life at its bleakest but with a few rays of hope. This book takes place over a period of 4-5 days, which are possibly the longest days in the protagonist's life. The added mystery of a murder is almost secondary to the exquisitely-drawn characters, the dramatic details of life in the jail (one can almost smell the decay and illness). I found this book to be well-written, full of complex people who are not what they seem in many ways and I look forward to future books by Ms. Hodgson. If you are a fan of mysteries in "exotic" places with lots of small but important twists and turns of fate, this is the book for you!
  • Jane C. (Brighton, MI)


    Fascinating read
    As we meet Tom Hawkins, he has decided not to follow his father into the ministry. He is very deep in debt and will not ask his family for help. He ends up in the Marshalsea gaol for debtors. All that he heard heard about the prison was true and he finds that there has been a murder.

    Tom gets himself involved in quietly solving the murder and is almost killed himself. The characters are well developed and are full of surprises.

    I had read previously about goals and the way people lived there, but this book brought it to life. The author brings the reality of that life to the forefront.
  • Dianne F. (Saint Helena, CA)


    Devil in the Marshalsea
    I found this book to be a real page turner. The characters were colorful and had a Dickensian flavor. The author kept you guessing as to who the real culprits were and so
    wasn't in any way predictable. Lovers of historical fiction would like this book as it captured the dismal times for the poor and unfortunate in London but wasn't dismal to read. Some book clubs might find it too dark. Overall, I thought it was a great read.
  • Joe S. (Port Orange, FL)


    Devil in the Marshalsea
    I was a little hesitant to read a book about an eighteenth century British prison, a subject I knew very little about, but once I started reading I began thoroughly enjoying the book and found it very hard to put down. It was well written, well researched and well edited in addition to being a fascinating mystery. Lovers of historical mysteries will really like this one.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.