Advance reader reviews of Glitter and Glue

Glitter and Glue

A Memoir

by Kelly Corrigan

Glitter and Glue
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2014
    240 pages
    Genre: Biographies & Memoirs

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 27 member reviews
for Glitter and Glue
Order Reviews by:
  • Ann O. (Kansas City, MO)


    A Heartfelt Memoir
    I loved Glitter and Glue. Reading it made me feel as if I were talking to my best friend who was telling me her story about the five months when she launched herself far from home into a country – and family -- she didn't know. It is an honest and heartfelt memoir about her experience caring for children who had lost their mother, children who pretended not to need her, but did ultimately need her. It is funny, endearing and loving.
  • Amber B. (East Sparta, OH)


    More than meets the eye
    I really enjoyed Glitter and Glue - the first person I texted after reading it was my own mother - with the words, "I have a book for you!"
    The memoir leaves one with much to think about - in terms of parenting, romantic relationships, what it means to be a son or daughter, and especially about your own mortality... what you leave behind.
    I found myself turning down lots of pages to come back to certain phrases and sections to jot down and revisit.
    Happy reading!
  • Diane D. (Blairstown, NJ)


    Interesting Memoir!
    I can't place my finger on just why I liked this book so much, but I sure did. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that my parents moved to Australia, when they got married, and I wanted to know more about the people there. Of course, as it turned out, people are the same everywhere.

    Kelly seemed to learn a lot about herself by being a nanny for the two young children, who had lost their mother; and it was interesting to see how she understood her mother more, as the time went on. It would be interesting to hear how my reading group would respond to this book, since it makes me wonder if everyone misunderstands their mothers till they are older and have more experience in life.

    I would have liked to have read more, but maybe that's another story for another book.
  • Jan M. (Broken Arrow, OK)


    PAINFULLY GOOD
    This is a book that really surprised this reader. As I began reading, I assumed it would be a light, fun tale of two young women experiencing the adventure of their lives. Very quickly I became aware that it was much more than that. Kelly's narrative revealed a lovely young woman's self-discovery as she grew into a mature adult. Her insight into her parent's roles in her life caused this reader to inspect and understand her own. Rarely has a book brought me such an Ah-Ha moment. Kelly's first person writing style allowed this reader to feel her emotions as she revealed her story. It was a job well done, and a story well told. I am recommending this book to my book club as I think it will generate much discussion.
  • Dorothy G. (Naperville, IL)


    A book for every generation of women
    Kelly Corrigan spoke to me on so many levels in this book....as a mother, a daughter, a granddaughter, and a one-day grandmother. The female journey and the discovery of the connection between ourselves and our mothers is one we all must take. Kelly bridged the gap between our young selves and our more mature selves; the mothers we become. She does this with humor, amazing insight, and heart tugging thoughtfulness. I enjoyed each page and wish I could pull up a chair beside her and hear more. For me, that is always the sign of a great book. Our mothers' voices echo inside us all our lives, but we often don't stop to listen. With the insight provided by Kelly, I will stop and listen and remember all the lessons passed on from my grandmother down to my daughters. I think everyone will see themselves and their well-meaning mothers. A lovely, short read.
  • Daryl B. (Poolesville, MD)


    Touching Memoir
    Never having read anything by Kelly Corrigan, I was delighted to find a new author I enjoy. I think being so far away from home and working as a mom to her two Australian charges, was the perfect scenario to make Kelly realize how big a role her own mom played in making her who she is. I loved quirky little Martin. Mother/daughter relationships always make for good discussions at book club .I would recommend this to any mom. Funny and touching.
  • Leah L. (Lawrence, NY)


    Not just another Mommy Dearest memoir
    I'll admit it up front -- It took me a while to get into this book. In this "selfie" age when memoirs on just about anything proliferate, especially when a 20-something is trying to find herself, I groaned. Yet Kelly Corrigan is not run-of-the-mill. Her worldwide odyssey was not Mom-and-Dad financed. Rather, she worked. Her commitment to the motherless Australian family is laudatory and all the more so since she had no idea how this experience would shape how she'd see her mother as well as herself as a mother. I ached when she disclosed that the Aussie kids never sought her out when they became adults. Her conclusion though about who loses out when a Mom dies was right on and refreshingly honest. Kelly -- When you make it out to the East Coast, I'd love to have dinner with you.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.