Advance reader reviews of Letters from Skye

Letters from Skye

by Jessica Brockmole

Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole X
Letters from Skye by Jessica Brockmole
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2013
    304 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 29 member reviews
for Letters from Skye
Order Reviews by:
  • Mary O. (Boston, MA)


    The Lost Art of Letter Writing
    As you pick up Letters from Skye and get engrossed in the love story against the backdrop of war, you suddenly realize that written letters are no longer the preferred method of communication. This is a captivating novel told through letters. You instantly are transcended to Elsbeth's and Davey's individual worlds and feel like you are writing the letters and living their lives. You grow to love the characters through their writing. I highly recommend this book - I LOVED IT!
  • Jorie (Florida)


    Journey to Skye: slip into Elspeth's shoes, one letter at a time.
    Elspeth is a Highlander Scot endowed to reside on the enchanted Isle of Skye, which sparks an intuitive creative voice inside her soul as a young girl. She learned to channel this gift by etching her observations and heartfelt wisdom into droplets of visceral poetry. Inasmuch as igniting a young man half a world away to discover something he had not felt was lost and conveyed his gratitude by penning her a letter. A letter he never expected her to reply too and thus began their entwined story. Of a woman entrapped by fear of the sea by which she couldn't allow herself to experience the world beyond Skye and of a boy struggling to become a man on the threshold of war.

    Letters are at their very core intimately raw in their conveyance of our innermost thoughts and emotions. We can spilt onto a page by word and context a connection that goes deeper than the superficial, fully absent of pretense and rightly an instinctive pause to reveal our truest of selves. You become lost in their exchanges to the brink that each time slip between the World Wars loses its mirth and all that is left is the anticipation of what news the next letter shall bring! You're caught in a vortex of uncertainty living through each painful revelation and consolation between Elspeth and David.

    And, yet this is a story that involves Margaret, the daughter of Elspeth who never knew her origins nor understood her mother as a woman. She too, is on a collision course with destiny that is half stitched in the past and half propelled forward by future events. Your heart aches and bleeds with Elspeth as she becomes fraught with despair and the anguish of the unknown. The churning of the tides ebbs and flows during the second half of the novel, but it's not foreshadowed to reveal the ending which washes away the dried tears and leaves the reader a smile upon her lips!
  • Kristen H. (Hagerstown, MD)


    Wonderful Letters
    I did not want the story to end. This book was a great read. Thoroughly enjoyed every minute - I felt like I was transported to wherever the writers were. Jessica Brockmole hit this one on the head. It was a very refreshing read, never a dull moment nor was I lost as to who was speaking in the story. Look forward to reading more from this author.
  • Mary Lou M. (N Royalton, OH)


    Pleasantly surprised
    The format of this book took awhile to grow on me, but then it engulfed me. The letters written by Elspeth to Davey and Davey's replies became intimate conversations that the reader is privileged to read. At first the letters written by Margaret to Paul during 1940, felt like an intrusion on the real story of Elspeth and Davey. Soon it became apparent how very important Margaret's letter were between her mother, Paul and especially her Uncle. What a wonderful story told through letters, which in this day and age has become a lost art. Wonderful book, would highly recommend it to my book club!
  • Carolyn L. (Summerville, SC)


    Love to read letters!
    I have enjoyed epistolary novels in the past, and this one is no exception. It was a pleasure reading all the letters, and this format is a good way to keep track of time and place. There were interesting but not deep descriptions of life during both world wars, and the characters were well-drawn. I think it would generate good book club discussion.
  • Carol R. (Foster City, CA)


    Inhaled This Book!
    I started reading this book on Saturday morning and finished it the same day. "Letters from Skye" is compulsively readable. Although the story was somewhat predictable, I wanted to know what happened next. The author's technique of alternating between mother's and daughter's stories kept the suspense building. I loved learning about the Isle of Skye.
  • Terri O. (Chapel Hill, NC)


    A gem of a novel
    Letters From Skye is a beautifully written gem of a novel. Written entirely as letters spanning 1912 to 1940, it tells the story of Elspeth Dunn, a Scottish poet, and David Graham, an American college student. What begins as a fan letter from David to Elspeth deepens to friendship and eventually love. One of the great strengths of the novel is the honesty and authenticity of the letters, which are sometimes witty and playful, sometimes passionate, sometimes poignant, but always deeply affecting. Brockmore has managed to create two distinct voices that are utterly believable and to convey depth of character and feeling, as well as a wealth of historical detail, through the medium of letters alone. In this age of ephemeral e-mail and texts, Letters From Skye will make the reader nostalgic for handwritten love letters that can be tied up with ribbon and cherished forever. This book would appeal to those who liked The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, as well as those who have a soft spot for 84 Charing Cross Road.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: The Wife Between Us
    The Wife Between Us
    by Sarah Pekkanen, Greer Hendricks
    The Wife Between Us is an intriguing collaboration between first-time novelist Greer Hendricks and ...
  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.