Advance reader reviews of Close My Eyes

Close My Eyes

by Sophie McKenzie

Close My Eyes
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2013
    400 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 39 member reviews
for Close My Eyes
Order Reviews by:
  • Tracy B. (New Castle, DE)


    Two stories in one
    Just who is writing The Special Child story? Is it a strange story that Gen in writing? She is an author.That in itself is a morbid twist.

    Art is Gen's wealthy husband. Is he keeping a secret? What really happened to baby Beth? Gen & Lorcan are trying to cast off depressing & difficult pasts, or so we think. In this process they join together in the search for Beth. But just when you think you have figured out who you can trust it all changes again and again and again. Wonderful!
  • Susan P. (Boston, MA)


    Close My Eyes
    A London woman very close to the end of her childbearing years still cannot forget her stillborn child from 8 years ago and is not sure whether she wants to keep trying IVF, as her husband wants. Then a stranger tells her that her child is alive. The news sends her into an obsessive hunt of trying to find the truth (good or bad) and trying to know whom to trust. An excellent page turner for readers of Rosamund Lupton, S. J. Watson, etc.
  • Carol N. (San Jose, CA)


    Close My Eyes
    What a ride! This psychological thriller deals with the ultimate betrayal. Filled with paranoia and confusion, this plot drags you in and keeps you engaged until the end. What a twisted road, the main character, Geniver, travels – from the lost of her only child at birth to 8 years later when a stranger tells her that her husband has betrayed her. The child is alive and well, but hidden. Who does one trust? Geniver searches for her child without the support of her family or close friends and along the way uncovers some very dark secrets. What she learns horrifies her. . . . what is her husband hiding? As she continues to delve into their past, she finds the answers to her questions...answers that will change her life forever. With a surprise ending one doesn't see coming, this author weaves a breathless thriller that kept this reader reading well into the night.
  • Darlene C. (Simpsonville, SC)


    Close My Eyes by Sophie Mckenzie
    I really enjoyed this book and any comparison to Gyllian Flynn's "Gone Girl" would be right on the money. The story line is different but the slow build, and the unpredictable twists and turns that get you hooked and unable to put the book down, are the same. Even if you're savvy enough to figure out who...the why will keep you riveted to the end. If you're a new reader or a long time reader (who can easily predict plots), this is a great read. You WILL be surprised! Bravo!
  • Ann B. (Bethlehem, PA)


    A Thrilling Ride
    Like any good roller coaster thrill ride, you climb into the car, strap yourself securely, and begin the climb to the top. So goes this mystery thriller. Along the way, the characters are introduced, setting and plot are developed and predictions and conclusions are drawn with care. At the pinnacle of the first hill, one appears to see clearly, but then the harrowing ride begins. Close My Eyes is a Class A roller coaster ride, as we enter each hairpin turn with lightening fast speed, changing everything we have come to believe upside-down. And like most good coaster rides, we come to a screeching halt with a sense of wanting more...or do we?
    Close My Eyes is this season's Gone Girl mystery thriller, with all the energy but more satisfying. Sophie McKenzie has written a book that will keep you thinking long after the book cover closes.
  • Judith M. (San Diego, CA)


    A Gripping Thriller
    The story of Geniver, her husband and stillborn baby starts slowly and seemed at first trite and predictable. I almost quit, but the story of hearing their baby was born alive and spirited away was fiendishly intriguing. Reader beware, do not give up! The plot gallops to it's conclusion. This psychological thriller is as sinister and exciting as Gone Girl, but has a much better ending!! It's bound to be a big summer read.
  • Anna R. (Oak Ridge, TN)


    Spell Binding
    If you love a good mystery; this is your book. From page one the story takes you on a journey that from page to page the reader doesn't know who is crazy, who is lying or what twist the plot is going to take. It is full of surprises and a book the reader will not want to put down. The author does a great job with the ending. As far as I am concerned, this is a "must read." Enjoy.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood
    Bryn Greenwood's debut, All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, is a harsh, raw, and ultimately, truthful...
  • Book Jacket: Hot Milk
    Hot Milk
    by Deborah Levy
    When people reach their early 20s, they often choose to go abroad – they want to get away from...
  • Book Jacket: Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    Ninety-Nine Stories of God
    by Joy Williams
    I have to preface this review by saying that I am not a fan of religious fiction - not even books ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Ashes of Fiery Weather
    by Kathleen Donohoe

    "Admirers of Pete Hamill and Kate Atkinson will appreciate this gripping novel." - Library Journal

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
Circling the Sun
by Paula McLain

An intoxicatingly vivid portrait of colonial Kenya and its privileged inhabitants.

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.