Advance reader reviews of Crime of Privilege

Crime of Privilege

by Walter Walker

Crime of Privilege by Walter Walker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2013
    432 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for Crime of Privilege
Order Reviews by:
  • Sandy P. (Gainesville, FL)


    Well written and entertaining
    Because of the similarities, at first I thought it was just going to be a re-hash of the Chappaquiddick incident (Ted Kennedy) or the Martha Moxley case (Michael Skakel) but it differed enough to be interesting, hold my attention to the end the book. I felt the anguish of Heather's father and his doggedness to not let the case languish and die was a critical part of the plot and emotion of the story. Once Asst. DA George Becket realized the leads Heather's father was furnishing were not being followed up he became his ally and advocate. And always in the background was the earlier death of Kendrick Powell (and her equally determined and powerful father). George was there that night. Should he have done more to prevent what happened? Guilt is powerful. The privileged gentry has, well, privileges afforded to them. But don't underestimate a wronged, vengeful, grief-stricken parent who should never have to bury his child. The story had enough twists, dead end leads and cast of players to remain interesting. I'll definitely look for more of Mr. Walker's books.
  • Jane C. (Brighton, MI)


    Crime of Privilege
    Privilege is interesting concept. We hear many times of how great it is to have money and what you can get away with. This book is a perfect example. The book takes privilege to a new height. I really liked the book. It was hard to put down. It moved from coast to coast and to several world venues to solve a crime that did not want to be solved. Great read. Walter Walker is a great legal writer.
  • Sarah C. (Cape Girardeau, MO)


    Crime of Privilege
    Justice?? what is it? and for whom??? This book came so close to describing events that happened in my lifetime. Eventually someone paid, but to what end? I found the story very thought provoking and absolutely riveting. I gave it to my husband to read his nose was in the book constantly. The last line is very powerful. Just do what?
  • Bink W. (Sopchoppy, FL)


    Great crime literature
    This book hooked me immediately with its setting, characters, and plot. Pretty much read it without putting it down and enjoyed the suspense and complexity. I tend to like the more involved noir and Swedish mysteries and this fit in well with that mood and use of language. Can't wait for more from this writer.
  • Darcy C. (San Diego, CA)


    This is going to be a BESTSELLER!
    What a fantastic book! The characters were believable and the tension was palpable. I raced through this book and was caught off-guard with the antics of the characters and the deception was written with such cruelty, that your heart poured-out for the protagonist. This book will be flying off the shelves when published. Just when you think you have read 'all' of the murder-mysteries possible..... pick up this book, and you will be rewarded with a great story! I am putting this novelist on my "to watch for" list, NOW! Enjoy this stellar story!
  • Linda W. (Summit, NJ)


    A labyrinth of secrets
    The plot of this novel has a familiar ring to it. Power, politics and privilege are all bought with money and connections. A lone individual, George Becket, is sucked into the vortex of an event because he happened to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. He continually makes poor or just plain wrong conclusions and is easily manipulated. But he is a likable character without much depth.

    This was an enjoyable page turner with a weak and unsatisfying ending. The location of the story and the family that it revolves around are recognizable which leaves the reader with the sense that you know how the book will end long before you come to the last page.
  • Carolyn A. (Sarasota, FL)


    reluctant mystery reader!
    Reading mysteries is not my forte, but this book was a winner! Walter Walker brings the reader into his book through the education and enlightenment of George Becket, a young, naive, assistant district attorney. The twists and turns of the rich and powerful who thwart the investigations, while controlling the lives of those involved in the cold case of a young woman's murder keep the tempo of this story moving at top speed, from the first page to the last. This book is rich with conversations for any book club. This book is one the reader will reach for at every possible moment to keep reading, as George finds the solution not only where his life is going but the crime that has been committed.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...
  • Book Jacket
    News of the World
    by Paulette Jiles
    Paulette Jiles brings the landscape of late 19th century Texas to life in this novel long-listed for...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.