Advance reader reviews of The Jericho Deception

The Jericho Deception

by Jeffrey Small

The Jericho Deception
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2013
    396 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Jericho Deception
Order Reviews by:
  • John P. (Boca Raton, FL)


    A battle of religion, culture and the mind
    A very fast paced race between Islamic culture, the theory that religious belief can be modified and the salvation of our universe depends on that change will keep you turning pages.
    Logos, from the Greek culture is the instrument of change and the battle of wits between several groups including the CIA will keep you moving from their headquarters, a monastery in the middle of the dessert and Yale University.
  • Paula W. (Sarasota, FL)


    "Logos" - in the beginning was the Word....
    Although I began "The Jericho Deception" with some misgivings, the first few chapters drew me in so deeply --- I just couldn't put it down. Recipe --- put in some terrorists, an explosion, a quest to be able to "give " people an experience with God -- "up close and personal", thugs on steroids, an top-secret underground facility, a righteous Muslim, an old, beloved Jewish mentor, a "sorta" agnositic hero --- then add an "unsolvable" code, a cute and brainy assistant and MONKEYS (!!!) - who could possibly resist this unusual and intriguing scientific, philosophical mystery. Not me!!!!
  • Jim S. (Austin, TX)


    The Jericho Deception
    Jeffrey Small's new novel the Jericho Deception is a fascinating story of neuroscience research into the effects of a machine called the Logos that might potentially turn religious zealots into pliable individuals. Unfortunately the machine falls into evil hands. Ethan Lightman, a physician researcher, has developed the machine with his mentor who is murdered and the machine stolen. This leads Ethan away from Yale to the desert near the Nile river. This is an exciting story of intrigue, love, and violence. I would recommend this book to all interested in mystery, action and thriller categories. I also look forward to reading Mr. Small's debut novel "The Breath of God".
  • Kathy M. (Neptune Beach, FL)


    a pleasant surprise
    When I received "The Jericho Deception" I was not sure at all how I was going to feel about reading this. The description sounded very highbrow and I was sure that the subject matter was going to be a struggle to read. However, I loved this book. It was a fascinating subject about the possibility of producing religious visions and ecstasy and as in all good thrillers the misuse of this knowledge. I had been looking for a 'can't put down read' and this was it. It would make for a great beach or vacation read. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
  • Daniel A. (Naugatuck, CT)


    The Jer1ch0 Decept10n
    Question: What do you get when you combine these items - 1. A machine that taps into your seeing-God part of your brain, 2. The CIA, and 3. The Middle East?
    Answer: A fascinating story with many twists and turns with plausible situations and memorable characters that just maybe would make you lose some sleep or a meal or two because you want to keep reading. Recommended for fans of mystery, suspense and thrillers.
  • Mary R. (San Jose, CA)


    Could there be a God Spot in our brains?
    The Jericho Deception is a multi-faceted novel about the discovery of a way to turn on the God Spot in the brain and how that discovery becomes a military tool for brainwashing people. The book is fast paced and the characterizations are vivid. You can't help but grow to love Ethan and Rachel and worry if Mousa will be saved. Just when you think you have it figured out, there's a twist in the story. It had me guessing right up to the last page, with a possible hint of a sequel. I can definitely see this as an action film.
  • Jeanette L. (Marietta, GA)


    The Jericho Deception
    This fantastic novel will have your brain working overtime; Jeffrey Small's writing reminds me of Dan Brown with all the intrigue, the thrills and surprising conclusion. This is a compelling story of scientists, modern technology and the search for mystical sensations and the meaning of God. It is perfectly balanced and fast paced.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.