Advance reader reviews of Ghostman

Ghostman

by Roger Hobbs

Ghostman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Feb 2013
    336 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for Ghostman
Order Reviews by:
  • Elizabeth K. (Dallas, TX)


    Ghostman - A Thrilling Debut Novel
    The main character may be a bad guy, but author Roger Hobbs gives him a clear voice and a code of standards. The hero of Ghostman is a compelling character, and I found myself on his side, rooting for him, despite his off-the-grid criminal lifestyle. The story begins with a botched casino robbery and the hunt for the missing stolen money, which must be recovered quickly before the evil employer who hires Jack Delton, one of many aliases the Ghostman uses, is destroyed. Jack finds himself caught between his scary employer and the even scarier Wolf, a criminal mastermind who owns Atlantic City. The plot twists and turns and the reader wonders who to believe, who to trust, and what to do next, right along with Jack. This amazing story is well-researched, thrilling, and intriguing to the very end. I plan to read everything this author writes, and I look forward to his next book, where I hope we'll not only see more of Jack, but more of the mysterious Angela, as well.
  • Charlene M. (Murrells Inlet, SC)


    Ghost Man - Roger Hobbs
    Ghost Man reads like a Mickey Spillaine whodunit. Hobbs creates an anti-hero, Jack Delton, who you're not sure you should root for or hide your wallet. The words come at you like a machine gun, fast and furious. A terrific book which should be a terrific movie. Al Pacino would be a great Marcus. I look forward to reading his second novel.
  • Elaine M. (Beaver Falls, PA)


    Ghostman
    Move over David Baldasci, Vince Flynn, and Lee Child, Roger Hobbs had arrived. Ghostman is an interesting, fast paced first book for Hobbs.
    Unlike the authors mentioned, Hobb's character is completely on the wrong side of the law. His protagonist is not the enforcer; but has to clean-up for the enforcer!
    This was an unusual read since one finds himself "rooting" for the bad guy and understanding him completely.
    When the book is finished, one realizes just how important the cleaner's job is in the scheme of things.
    Book clubs would have a great discussion of the main character's main purpose and methods. The book members may even ask themselves, is he really that different from a Jack Reacher?
    I enjoyed the book immensely and hope there will be more like this.
  • Julie R. (Woodland, CA)


    Ghostman
    "Ghostman" is a well written thriller featuring a professional imposter named Jack. Jack is skilled in changing his appearance and voice to match any disguise he is trying to pull off. This skill comes in handy when he needs to disappear after a job or to avoid being caught by the police or FBI. This novel begins with Jack being called in to clean up a botched casino robbery for his colleague Marcus. Little does Jack know that repaying a favor my cost him his life. Will Jack succeed in capturing a missing robber and find the missing money or get caught in the cross fire.

    If you are a fan of Dan Brown or Michael Connelly you will like this one. Congratulations to Roger Hobbs in producing a thriller that has won this fan.
  • Jennifer B. (Oviedo, FL)


    Impressive!
    It is unusual to feel a rush of excitement from a first novel, but that is the case with Ghostman. His descriptive writing made me feel as if I were taking a part in each scene described. Roger Hobbs's style of writing is intelligent without being showy. His method of switching from one heist tale to another kept me interested all the way through the book. Not once did I feel bored.
  • Joan R. (Chicago, IL)


    Terrific Thriller
    I am not someone who reads thrillers, but I gave this one a try and am I glad I did! This is a gem of a book---fast paced, well-written and engrossing. I couldn't put it down. I usually avoid thrillers, because I don't enjoy the violence, but the violence in this book, while present, is not excessive. The narrator is intelligent and interesting and the plot's twists and turns are a pleasing challenge. This book would appeal to a wide range of readers--even those like me who don't usually read this genre---so I heartily recommend it.
  • Jan T. (Leona Valley, CA)


    Ghostman
    Ghostman is an amazing book. It is unusual and highly compelling. The author writes with such intelligence and obviously has researched the grungy world of crime. It is a faced paced book which flips from a previous crime to the one central to the book. The author fills in the characters cleverly using bits of information from both crimes. It is utterly fascinating. I would recommend this for anyone who enjoys an intense thrillride. I am excited to follow this debut author throughout his career - he is destined to be one of the "greats." I will be gifting this book to all my mystery/crime loving friends.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.