Advance reader reviews of The Forgetting Tree

The Forgetting Tree

A Novel

by Tatjana Soli

The Forgetting Tree
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2013
    432 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 member reviews
for The Forgetting Tree
Order Reviews by:
  • Jane D. (San Diego, CA)


    you can never forget
    Reading "The Forgetting Tree" by Tatjana Soli was one of the most beautiful and moving experiences of my summer. I loved Soli's deep explorations of the characters. And I liked how she didn't tell the reader but rather showed and let the reader come to her own conclusions. The story was both fascinating and heartbreaking, and while being entertained, I was also learning about the life of a citrus farmer. Thank you for this book--one of the true gifts of the summer.
  • Maggie R. (Canoga Park, CA)


    A Rich Stew
    The effects of tragedy and healing growth through relationship with the land and with a companion steeped in mystic beliefs form the backbone of this lush, dramatic novel. Wonderful storytelling.
  • Kathrin C. (Corona, CA)


    A Beautiful and Tangled Orchard
    Right within the first 20-30 pages the reader will be drawn irresistibly into an ever-changing orchard of characters from differing backgrounds and cultures facing inexorable desires, devastating losses and dark fears. So many stories within stories. . . Tatiana Soli’s rich writing style never lets go. Read it and let your mind explore Claire and Forster Baumsarg’s challenges and transformations and, then sometimes, even one’s own.
    Tatjana Soli will be visiting our local library early next year and I very much look forward to meeting her and hearing her discuss this work as well as her first novel, The Lotus Eaters. I am still torn between choosing that or The Forgetting Tree as a future reading selection for our book discussion group.
  • Virginia W. (Chapel Hill, North Carolina)


    Rewiew of The Forgetting Tree
    This engrossing novel is about loyalty, love, and loss. It explores how a tragedy affects the direction and life path of all impacted. The main character, Claire inspires empathy, sympathy and at times anger as she faces the personal hardships that surround her and struggles to maintain her hard-earned life and land. When she meets a character who's response to early tragedies is much more sinister than her own the reader is pulled in and a bit breathless as page by page the intensity mounts and the question is whether Claire will prevail or succumb like the frog swimming in the ever hotter pan of water (the author's analogy). This was a very satisfying read and would be a good choice for book clubs.
  • Kathy G. (Alamo, CA)


    The Forgetting Tree
    When I saw that Tatjana Soli had written another book, I immediately placed my order. I was not disappointed in the novel. I found the book very insightful and the characters filled with imagination. I have never read a book quite like this one. Book clubs would love it. Discussions could evolve around Claire's world
    of cancer survival, relationships with husband and children and dedication to the family land. On the opposite side, there is the sultry and mysterious side of the world in which Minna is from which is a novel onto itself. I loved the book and look forward to the next one!
  • Margaret M. (Chicago, IL)


    Forgetting tree
    It is an excellent read even though it is 400 pages. The saga of several generations keeps the readers interest. It well written and exciting.

    This book would appeal to anyone interested in the genre of sagas and the love of land.

    I give it 5 stars!
  • Catharine L. (Petoskey)


    Highly Recommend
    An amazing read. Grabs your attention from the first page. The death of 10 year old Joshua completely shatters the family and Claire, the mother, immerses herself in the family orange farm - shutting out her husband, two daughters, and friends.
    When the girls are grown and gone, her husband remarried, Claire is diagnosed with breast cancer. Needing chemotherapy and radiation, she needs a caregiver, and Minna/Marie/Maleva becomes a part of Claire's world. The relationship that develops between vulnerable Claire and the sultry and seductive Caribbean woman is fascinating. Beautifully written, I enjoyed this book even more than her first novel, The Lotus Eaters.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.