Advance reader reviews of The House of Velvet and Glass

The House of Velvet and Glass

A Novel

by Katherine Howe

The House of Velvet and Glass
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Apr 2012
    432 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The House of Velvet and Glass
Order Reviews by:
  • Elinor S. (Loudonville, NY)


    The House of Velvet and Glass
    Wonderful! I really loved this book. Well written and informative. I think this would be a wonderful read for a book club. It was so heartfelt with the feelings of loss of the sister and mother. The popularity of the seances and the availability of the opiates was information that I had not thought of before. Love, academia, upper class privilege and exotic travel were all included to make this a really good read
  • Sandra L. (Delray Beach, FL)


    The House of Velvet and Glass
    I enjoyed this book very much. Loved the images Ms Howe's words painted of pre WWI Boston, old Shanghai and the Titanic. This is the 100th anniversary of the sinking of the Titanic and the book is timely. It tied in well with my recent reading of "The Technologist" by Matthew Pearl.
  • Judy B. (Cedar Falls, IA)


    THE HOUSE OF VELVET AND GLASS
    I couldn't wait for the next cliff hanger to resolve itself. The characters, complex, and enjoyable kept me turning pages to know more about them. Historical details made the novel feel like nonfiction.
  • Kristen H. (Hagerstown, MD)


    The House of Velvet and Glass
    I enjoyed reading this book by Katherine Howe. The characters in the book are described very well. As I have read in her first novel, The Physick book of Deliverance Dane, she ties in the lives of the characters extremely well. Once again, this author has written a great historical novel and I would recommend this book for book clubs or anyone that would enjoy a great historical read.
    I am glad that I was able to read this first impression book, thank you for the opportunity.
  • Sandra G. (Middleton, WI)


    Top-notch historical fiction
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Every time I had a few spare minutes I wanted to get back to it. I would ordinarily not choose a book with a paranormal subplot, but Sybil's experiences were riveting. The elegant writing style, the rich language, and the masterful character development all added to the pleasure of reading. The wonderfully vivid visual imagery brought both people and places to life. This novel is a winner on all levels!
  • Bink W. (Sopchoppy, FL)


    Wonderful characters and atmosphere
    I enjoyed this book equally as much as her first and found the writing style consistent. She really brings one into the periods of history with accurate details and invention. The narrative goes between youth and old age as well as timelines before and after the sinking of the Titantic. Well worth the read if you enjoy historical fiction with a bit of romance.
  • Debra V. (Kenosha, WI)


    Possible Bestseller
    Really enjoyed iThe House of Velvet and Glass/i by Katherine Howe. I liked the way it moved from the present to the past telling more than one story and helping you understand the characters emotions. I liked the dating of the chapters so that you knew instantly what story was being told. Also liked the Afterword at the end and totally agree with the author's conclusions about that period in history. I will definitely read this author again, and would recommend to book clubs.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.