Advance reader reviews of The Good Father

The Good Father

A Novel

by Noah Hawley

The Good Father
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Mar 2012
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 23 member reviews
for The Good Father
Order Reviews by:
  • Tillie H. (Baltimore, MD)


    Compelling
    This is a compelling novel about a father whose son has been accused of murdering the next president. The book is very well written and shows how the father believes in the son's innocence no matter what the media says. His journey through process causes him to soul search to discover if there is something he could have done to prevent this tragedy.

    I would definitely recommend this book to everyone. The only part of this book that I didn't like is that he seeks to compare this situation with all the other assassinations that have made headlines in the past 5 decades. But, I would still recommend it.
  • Jinny K. (Fremont, CA)


    The Good Father
    Compelling and tragic tale of a devoted father's quest to find the answer to his son's inexplicable murderous act. He traces his son's actions over the last few years, agonizes over every moment of his childhood and researches murders of public figures in a heartbreaking but fruitless effort to understand the tragedy.

    His character is very sympathetic and the story is engaging.
  • Elinor M. (Roswell, NM)


    The Good Father
    This is definitely a novel that captures your interest from the start. Hawley exhibits a remarkable style of writing that places the reader clearly in the mind of both father and son. One can feel the tug of guilt in the father as his relentless attempts to help his son seem in vain. At the same time, the independent nature of the son grasps your consciousness.

    "Blame" seems to be the name of the game here and I feel, because of that very subject, "The Good Father" would be an excellent book club choice, resulting in spirited discussions. Book club member or not, Hawley's work is a gripping narrative of a father/son relationship. It has my wholehearted recommendation.

    (As an aside, having recently reviewed William Landay's "Defending Jacob", I noted a similarity in the storyline at the start and, particularly later, at the point wherein the possibility of inherited genes was considered as the behavioral cause.)
  • Cynthia C. (Peekskill, NY)


    The Good Father by Noah Hawley
    I was not able to put this book down. A plot straight out of today's headlines with well-drawn characters, it is an intense read, perfect for book club discussions. Highly recommended!
  • Debbie M. (grand junction, CO)


    The Good Father
    The Good Father was a fascinating book. You think you know your child, but do you? Dr Paul Allen was a good father, trying hard to raise good children. What would cause his oldest child to do the unthinkable, to assassinate a presidential candidate .
    The book looks at how one family dealt with being in the spotlight. The denial and then the scrutinizing of every detail over and over again. We seldom think about the family of the accused. How they feel. What their lives must be like from that moment on. How they blame themselves. Hawley gives us great insight into a situation none of us ever want to find ourselves in.
  • Margaret M. (Chicago, IL)


    The good father
    The Good Father is an excellent read. The plot is great! It keeps your interest to the extent that it is hard to put down.

    The characters are well drawn and believable.if you are a parent or not you can easily identify with the family.
  • Beth K. (New York, NY)


    The Good Father
    A book that pulled me in from the first page, The Good Father is a work that is both wholly mesmerizing and utterly disturbing.

    The book shifts focus subtly, at times questioning the level of Daniel’s actual guilt, but always returning to the ultimate issue of how Dr. Allen can reconcile the man his son has become.

    A good portion of the middle section of the book contains detailed accounts of the actions of several well-known killers. This material at times felt creepy, and I was somewhat put off by the frequent interruption to the feel and flow of the narrative that resulted from including this information. As the book moved past this section, though, I quickly got back into the story, and it ultimately did not detract from my reading experience.

    A book that will stay with you after you read the last page, and a definitely a conversational gold mine for book clubs.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.