Advance reader reviews of The Look of Love

The Look of Love

A Piper Donovan Mystery

by Mary Jane Clark

The Look of Love
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2012
    320 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 25 member reviews
for The Look of Love
Order Reviews by:
  • Barbara K. (Brooklyn, NY)


    The Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark
    This pleasant, fast paced, nicely detailed book was a 'quick read' that offered a view into the world of spas, Hollywood, plastic surgery, a monastery and the art of baking. There was also a mystery to solve and clues were interspersed throughout. The characters were realistic, especially the relationships between fathers and daughters. There is also an emphasis on how some women view their appearances in often unrealistic ways, giving the reader something to think about.
    Baking details, plus a recipe are an added bonus.
    This story flowed so smoothly that reading it was a 'mini vacation.' I would recommend it as a fun, escape novel.
  • Cheryl D. (Angola, NY)


    Pleasant review
    This book is a pleasant review. The main character decorates cakes, but she gets to travel among the rich and famous while she is doing it. It doesn't seem as the wedding will ever happen. The only weakness I saw was a repetition in the plots of the two books in the series.
  • Elizabeth K. (glenshaw, PA)


    The Look of Love
    It was a pleasure to revisit with Piper Donovan. This time she is off to Los Angeles to make a wedding cake for the Director of Elysium, a world renown Spa owned by her plastic surgeon father. The added bonus is a free plane ticket and accommodations at the spa. There can't be a Piper Donovan novel without a murder and mystery. Although this was a fast paced easy read, it makes one ponder having elective plastic surgery.
  • Barbara C. (Lincolnshire, IL)


    The Look of Love by Mary Jane Clark
    The book was good but not great. It was very slow moving and a little predicable. I wouldn't say you had to read or buy it. I knew who the murderer was after a few chapters. I've read some of her other books and they were much better.
  • Kimberly B. (Atlanta, GA)


    A Grown-Up Nancy Drew
    I have not been into mystery novels since I was an adolescent hoarding Nancy Drew mystery books like they were going to disappear; But alas The Look of Love; A Piper Donovan Mystery has reawakened my youthful curiosity and my desire for mystery and intrigue!

    The book was fast-paced and well-written, rich in detail and very vivid. I tore through the pages to get to the end to figure it all out, making many assumptions and theories along the way!

    My only issue is at times, the overwhelming discussion of the "rich" became monotonous and some of the characters were under-developed. It is impossible to give any more detail without spoiling the book, so I am going to say- READ IT, you will not be disappointed!!

    I am officially a fan and I look forward to reading other Piper Donovan Mysteries.
  • Terrie J. (Eagan, MN)


    The Look of Love was a fun read
    I really enjoyed The Look of Love. It was a fun light hearted mystery and reminded me of reading Agatha Christie. There were many characters and while reading I wasn't sure which one was the "bad guy" - many of them could have been. I look forward to reading another Piper Donovan mystery.
  • Margaret H. (Springfield, VA)


    The Look of Love
    This is the second novel about Piper Donovan, an aspiring actress who has turned to decorating wedding cakes until she finds an acting job. She is invited to California to decorate a cake for the manager of a luxury spa and finds herself involved in the murder of a housekeeper who had been injured by acid and is recovering in the spa. She also meets another young lady who has been damaged by her quest for a wonderful nose. Add to this the over involved second wife of the owner. All of this leads to suspense as Piper tries to discover who committed the murder and finds herself in trouble. Though a fun read there are almost too many characters and red herrings to keep track of. It would make a fun beach read or snow read for those liking cozy mysteries.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
    I Contain Multitudes
    by Ed Yong
    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
    Night of the Animals
    by Bill Broun
    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.