Advance reader reviews of The Sisters

The Sisters

A Novel

by Nancy Jensen

The Sisters
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Oct 2012
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Sisters
Order Reviews by:
  • Carol G. (Little Egg Harbor, NJ)


    The Sisters
    A very complex and moving novel that led me to reflect on my own family and my own life and how my life was shaped by those decisions. The reader is drawn into this story deeper and deeper, when nothing turns out as planned for the sisters, stemming from the first misunderstanding!

    This extraordinary novel of two sisters and their families spanning over eighty years is one not to be missed and would be a wonderful discussion book for my book club.

    This book will stay in your thoughts long after yo have read the last page. I look forward to reading future novels from Nancy Jensen.
  • Diane W. (Lake Villa, IL)


    The Sisters
    First books, I believe, are often an author's best as they seem to be the culmination of many years of thought, reflection, and craft. This book did not disappoint me in that opinion: complex and varied characters; sound writing of a tale of family dynamics, secrets; paths taken vs. not taken; decisions made and the consequences that follow. Would definitely be a good choice for complex discussions and strong opinions in a women's book club or group. Recommended!
  • Mary M. (Lexington, KY)


    Touching Story
    I really enjoyed this book. I waited a few days after finishing it to write this because I wanted to see if I felt the same way after some time had passed. I can say that the characters and their stories are going to stay with me for some time. It is a very well written book. I would recommend it to book clubs. There are many issues that could be discussed. It is interesting to see how the lives of the sisters and their children change over 80 years. This is a wonderful book.
  • Carm D. (Omaha, NE)


    The Sisters by Nancy Jensen
    This was an excellent and interesting story about how one miscommunication can affect the lives of so many generations. I found it compelling and could hardly put it down. The characters were well developed and I especially liked Alma and her courage. I recommend this highly.
  • Jean T. (Paducah, KY)


    The Sisters
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The author conveyed a deep sensitivity and connection with the emotional threads that bound and separated the members of this family. I hated having to put the book down and at the close of each chapter looked forward to rejoining that character when next we met. I think this will be an excellent choice for book clubs, generating significant discussion.
  • Cheryl K. (East Aurora, NY)


    The Sisters: A Life Lesson
    I was enthralled with this novel from the first chapter, mainly because I identified so closely with the women and their history. The characters were real; their actions, interaction and secrets held my attention throughout. I did find it a bit confusing to keep track of the entire Fischer family, and frequently referred to the family tree in the front of the book. The outcome may not be what I would have hoped for, but it fit the story perfectly. What a wonderful book for book clubs to read and discuss. I have already recommended it to others.
  • Mary B. (St Paul, MN)


    Sisters
    The story begins in the 1920's and follows the lives of two sisters and their families throughout the years. It touches on families and family secrets and the heartbreak and joy involved in both. I enjoyed the book very much. Each generation had their own story to tell, often painful, but also hopeful . It would make a great bookclub read.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.