Advance reader reviews of The Most Dangerous Thing

The Most Dangerous Thing

by Laura Lippman

The Most Dangerous Thing by Laura Lippman
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Aug 2011
    352 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 5
There are currently 33 member reviews
for The Most Dangerous Thing
Order Reviews by:
  • Dorothy S. (Hendersonville, NC)


    Secrets, lies, dangerous things!
    This is my first Lippman read, and I was not disappointed. Family dynamics, intrigue and a whole gamut of emotional responses: this book had it all. I was, however, a bit confused by the continual shift of focus, not only among characters, but also between past and present. It was challenging to read and probably even more so, challenging to write. Kudos to Laura Lippman.
  • Mary Ann B. (Louisville, KY)


    You never really know a person
    Laura Lippman has written a story that stays with you after reading, because it makes you think about your own life and the people you know or think you know. This book keeps you guessing about not only the children we meet as adults, but their parents as well. Nature vs nurture will always be debated, and Ms. Lippman makes us think about both. If you like her stand-alones, I'd Know You Anywhere, and What the Dead Know, this won't disappoint.
  • Judith W. (Brooklyn, NY)


    Unintended consequences.....
    I would recommend this to anyone. I enjoyed reading about how secrets kept, and lies told to oneself and others can affect the lives of all involved. I also found the various relationships between and within the families and the children most interesting.
  • Lauren T. (Orlando, FL)


    The most dangerous thing by Laura Lippman
    Once again, Laura Lippman has written a wonderful character study. She really makes you think as you read about the five main characters and how an incident in their childhoods affects the rest of their lives and the lives of those around them. She has used an unusual technique here in that she has written the book in the first person plural. It took me awhile to get used to this as I started out wanting to know who the narrator was, but I quickly became acclimated as my attention was grabbed by wanting to know what happened next. This is a great read!
  • Beth P. (Chester, VA)


    Another Laura Lippmann Winner
    Laura Lippmann continues to write amazing stand alone books, in addition to her Tess Monaghan series. Her latest book, The Most Dangerous Thing, had me hooked in the first chapter. Her characters are so alive, they jump off the page. In this book she goes back in forth in time, dealing with adolescents and their secrets and their parents, with secrets of their own. In order to like a book I need to like the characters and I loved each one. The book is part mystery, part coming of age, and just one darn good novel. I would recommend it very highly.
  • Stefani H. (Richmond, VT)


    We are our own worst enemy
    This is the first Laura Lippman book I have read so I didn't know what to expect. I enjoyed reading a book that gave such an insightful journey through the human experience. The crime was secondary to the characters in this book. I liked it being character driven by people whose depth and own personal discoveries throughout the book kept me wanting more. I think there is a lot to discuss in this book that book clubs would enjoy talking about. Especially people looking at their life and choices from different ages.
  • Christine P. (San Francisco, CA)


    The Most Dangerous Thing
    Throughout this book there is a secret that is alluded to again and again. I really think the secret is something that changed as I read farther and farther into the book. Laura Lippman explores the perspectives of the people involved, why it happened and why it remains a secret. Guilt, penance and regret are all themes from this novel that would make it great for book discussion groups.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Atomic Weight of Love by Elizabeth J. Church

In the spirit of The Aviator's Wife, this resonant debut spans from World War II through the Vietnam War.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.