Advance reader reviews of Low Town

Low Town

A Novel

by Daniel Polansky

Low Town by Daniel Polansky

Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 23 member reviews
for Low Town
Order Reviews by:
  • Linda W. (Riverview, Florida)


    A great read! Daniel Polansky I am a fan!
    Daniel Polansky has created a dark, gritty place filled with demons, magic, murder and treachery. He also creates characters; some menacing some complicated; all interesting and multilayerd. You care about the central characters and want them to rise above it all. I hope this will be the first of many novels to come from Mr Polansky. I am a fan.
  • Gail G. (Northbrook, Illinois)


    LOW TOWN A MYSTICAL MYSTERY by Daniel Polansky
    The story takes place in a city called Rogus which is a part of the city of Thirteen Lands. This place is populate by many divergent cultures. The period of the story is not relevant. The story covers several genras--mystery, noir and fantasy.

    The story moves along quickly but for some reason I didn't feel closure with the story's ending. It may be possible for a sequel to arrive within the next year or so?
  • Jill S. (Eagle, ID)


    Great summer read
    Low Town is a great book! Be forewarned, once you start it, you won't be able to put it down. This book has a little bit of everything--fantasy, action, and suspense. Mr. Polansky's descriptions and well developed characters make readers feel that they are actually with the Warden. The ending doesn't even disappoint. I hope to read more of the Warden in the future. Enjoy!
  • Dana W. (Elbridge, NY)


    Low Town
    Low Town presented itself as a mystery/lite sci-fi /adventure story. Daniel Polansky does a masterful job of describing both the look and the feel of Low Town and does the same with all of the characters involved with the story. It was an excellent read that I hope will be followed by many more.
  • Debi B. (Charleston, SC)


    A Most Excellent Thriller
    Low Town is a gritty, fast-paced, action-packed adventure which takes place in another time and place. Mr. Polansky is very descriptive, which made me feel I was with The Warden every step he took. I couldn't put this book down. I hope this is the first of many adventures for The Warden.
  • Les G. (Fort Collins, CO)


    Excellent fantasy/thriller
    Low Town by Daniel Polansky is a very well written fantasy/thriller. The fantasy elements are relatively minor, which is probably why I enjoyed it so much. It is an action-packed, fast-paced, thriller with an excellent conclusion. Palansky's vivid writing makes the scenes come alive, and the action never stops.

    Thanks to BookBrowse First Impressions for a chance to read the ARC of this wonderful book.
  • Linda P. (Medford, WI)


    Low Town
    Low Town is an extremely dark fantasy. The writing style and the short action-packed chapters grabbed my attention and kept it. The atmosphere and the characters of Low Town were unappealing and grim, but I would read this author again. Anyone in the mood for something gruesome, quick, and entertaining should take up Daniel Polansky's debut novel.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...

Who Said...

Don't join the book burners...

Click Here to find out who said this, as well as discovering other famous literary quotes!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.