Advance reader reviews of Heat Wave

Heat Wave

A Novel

by Nancy Thayer

Heat Wave
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    320 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 24 member reviews
for Heat Wave
Order Reviews by:
  • Sandra S. (Huntington Woods, Michigan)


    Independence
    Never knowing what life has in store for you, Carly falls in love and marries a wealthy lawyer she hardly knows. Within a few years of their marriage he has a mortal accident and she is left to raise her two children in the house he left her. She is left with decisions only she can make. I enjoyed this book, because it takes place on the east coast on Nantucket Sound where people populate the area in the summertime. Our family spends the summer in Northern Michigan, in a small town called Charlevoix. Recently, I had a decision, not unlike Carly's, to make. Consequently, the books main theme was very interesting to me. However, because, Nancy Thayer adds so many interesting characters, actions, and a little mystery, I think
    "Heat Wave" would appeal to most people, but especially women.
  • Carm D. (Omaha, NE)


    Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer
    This book is perfect for summer reading. It is fast paced, keeps you interested and the characters are likable. It's about loss and friendships who last through thick and thin. It's about trying to do the right thing for yourself and your family in trying times, and respecting the feelings of others in the process. The heroine is an admirable lady and I liked her immensely.
  • Ann D. (Clermont, GA)


    New Beginnings
    Newly widowed Carley discovers that she and her two young daughters are broke after the sudden death of her husband. She decides to turn her Nantucket home into a B &B much to the dismay of her staid in-laws. This is a story about survival, about the ties that bind friends and family ,and about reliance on inner strength when the world as we know it has collapsed. This is a good read with substance.
  • Jenna B. (Fairfield, CA)


    Great Beach Read
    This book was fantastic - a great, fun, fast read. You fall in love with the characters and feel like you can really know these women in real life. Will certainly have to check out the other books of Nancy Thayer. I think I may have found a new favorite author!
  • Sue Z. (Mooresville, NC)


    Heat Wave by Nancy Thayer
    A perfect book to take on vacation - the quintessential beach read. Women will find this a relaxing page turner, which will relate to much in their own lives or at least how they would wish their lives to be. "Heat Wave" will not join the annals of great literature but it is a fun book.
  • Patricia M. (Davidson, North Carolina)


    Heat Wave
    A wonderful read. Characters were nicely developed and you knew them as if they were actually your friends. My only wish was that I would have loved some of the recipes for all those delicious sounding muffins and cookies. I certainly will read other books by Nancy Thayer. I finished this lovely book in three days.
  • Lisa G. (Riverwoods, IL)


    Another Winner from Nancy Thayer
    Nancy Thayer has done it again with a wonderful story bringing Nantucket to life. A perfect read for a lazy afternoon this book addresses friendships, loss, infidelity and guilt. This is the kind of book I enjoy as respite after a particularly heavy duty book group read. I found it hard to put down and didn't want it to end but I hope there will be more from this author in the future.

One Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.