Advance reader reviews of The Things We Cherished

The Things We Cherished

A Novel

by Pam Jenoff

The Things We Cherished
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2011
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Things We Cherished
Order Reviews by:
  • Marlys D. (Grand Rapids, MI)


    The Things We Cherished
    I found this book very engaging. The back-and-forth between present-day and the past, and the tracking of the clock through history were well done and held my interest throughout. I did think there could have been a bit more historical background in the "past" chapters (for instance, details of what happened to Johann's wife) but I did like following the clock's travels. Some of the characters could have been developed a bit more as well, but overall I found it a good read if not particularly deep. I think it would make a pretty good "beach read" because it isn't too long or detailed--easy to pick up/put down without losing the thread of the story & characters.
  • Gee (Troutdale, OR)


    The Things We Cherished
    This was a marvelous story spanning many years and locations. It is the story of two attorneys who while working to defend a man against charges of war crimes during the Holocaust find themselves falling in love. The accused is the brother of a man who was deemed a hero during the time. It's the story of their mutual love for the same woman and the significance of an anniversary clock. The book is part love story, mystery and historical fiction.
  • Bob W. (Oakland, TN)


    The Things We Cherished
    I was initially drawn to the book by its title and close behind by it's historical fiction subject matter...and I was not disappointed.  Using her personal background of law and history she skillfully weaves the story from the past (beginning in 1903) to the present (2009), and throughout various cities in Europe.  And she ties it all together in a most interesting and unique way: an anniversary clock handmade in Bavaria in 1903 and the several lives it touches.  Ms Jenoff also does an excellent work of developing personal relationships, both in the past and the present, and in her character development.  All in all quite an accomplishment for under 300 pages.
     
    If you enjoy fact-based historical fiction you should enjoy her efforts.  Romance is also prominent, but is in no way overpowering. 
  • Shirley D. (Amherst, MA)


    THE THINGS WE CHERISHED
    Once I understood the sudden shifts in time, locale and characters, I was drawn into the personal pain of brothers and the women they loved and the pain of the Holocaust repeated in the present day struggle of two brothers and a woman, a survivor of the Holocaust herself. My heart ached again for the Holocaust victims as highlighted by Jenoff. Having lived in that era, I felt again the madness of those times, the old struggle of love and pain in wartime, everything loosely held together here by a clockmaker, the Nazis and an antique clock.. It is a novel of love in the horrors of war and in the sufferings of the men and women who lived it.
  • Sandra M. (Valparaiso, IN)


    The Things We Cherished
    The Things We Cherished is a powerful reminder of horrific war tragedies and the stories of those who survived and those who did not. (I recently read Sarah's Key and this novel complimented that reading experience.)

    The one thing that confused me was the changing character narration, time period and location of each new chapter. I had to stop and really think about who each character was and the context in which I knew him/her since things jumped from 1903 through 2009, with numerous stops in between.

    The Things We Cherished is a good read and I recommend it.
  • Linda Z. (Corydon, IN) Crawford Co. Library


    The Things We Cherished
    This book should appeal to both women and men who are interested in World War II, the Holocaust and would also appeal to mystery lovers. I had read two previous books by the author and enjoyed both. The moral dilemma was very interesting. Was Roger right or wrong in what he did or is there no easy answer? I intend to read other books by this author.
  • Betty T. (Warner Robins, Georgia)


    Love Triangles
    I enjoyed the book even though the story is not all that deep. The two love triangles somewhat mirror each other -- two brothers in love with the same woman. Neither story gets very deep. After all, the book is only 286 pages. It was sometimes hard to grab the thread of the story when it bounced into the past. But the sentimentality of the story saved it. The clock ties the chapters from the past together. Overall, I enjoyed it.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...
  • Book Jacket
    Find Me Unafraid
    by Kennedy Odede, Jessica Posner
    With staggering emotional weight and keen awareness of love and humanity even in the darkest places,...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach

    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.