Advance reader reviews of Sister

Sister

A Novel

by Rosamund Lupton

Sister
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 2011
    336 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for Sister
Order Reviews by:
  • Beverly J. (Huntersville, NC)


    Heart-breaking Suspense
    This was an accomplished debut novel that grabbed me from the first page to the unexpected finish. While the story read like a detective novel, it definitely has a feminine feel as it concentrates on the bond between the sisters, and the other female characters. I enjoyed how the suspense was built around the characters and builds one fact at a time. The author’s skills as a screen writer show as she vividly paints each scene. Many times I felt I was intruding into the intimate life of Beatrice as she bares her soul with the grief of losing her sister. The author masterfully blends suspense, intrigue, family secrets, literary aspects and the epistolary format to produce a chilling, tragic, heart-breaking story that despite the warning builds to an unexpected twist at the end.
  • Barbara F. (Saint Louis, MO)


    By all means......
    Do you have a sister?... then by all means read "Sister"....Only have brothers, then by all means read "Sister"....Only child? ...by all means read "Sister"
    A five star absorbing, stylish winner....
  • Becky M. (Crumpler, NC)


    Mystery of haunting beauty and compassion
    This reader was engaged from the start of this hauntingly beautiful and compassionate mystery. With its gripping complexity and heart-wrenching passion, the story had about it the same unforgettable intensity of "The Lovely Bones". While the mystery itself creates a page-turner, the poetry of the love between sisters is even more dominant. Lupton's language adds depth and captures the sense of profound loss throughout the novel. When the narrator states, "grief is love turned into an eternal missing", the reader experiences the pain she feels at the loss of her sister. And at that point, there is no rest until the murderer is found or the last page ends.
  • Kristine L. (The Woodlands, TX)


    Sister
    I absolutely enjoyed reading this book. While I had a little difficulty in the beginning understanding the flow of chapters and time sequence, I can honestly encourage every reader to hang in there! I read the book in little over one day of pure blissful reading of a great mystery. Having three sisters of my own, I thought the author nailed the unique relationship we all share with our sisters over the years. Job Well Done!
  • Linda S. (Oceanside, NY)


    A Haunting Page Turner
    It’s always a good feeling to start a book and to be engrossed right from the start; it’s an even better feeling when you close the book completely satisfied. This was my experience with “Sister”.

    At first blush the premise seems rather mundane, Bee’s sister is missing. When Tess is found dead and her death is declared a suicide Bee refuses to accept it. The idea isn’t unique; but what sets this book apart is the author’s way of telling the story; the book is in the form of a letter from Bee to Tess. This open letter concept really lets us in on Bee’s thought process as she tries to tie all the threads of Tess’s story together.

    The story is rich in details and character development and the writing is excellent. I did figure out part of the mystery but Lupton throws in a twist at the end that I did not see coming – although there were several clues along the way.

    A real page-turner that still haunts me.
  • Susan P. (Boston, MA)


    If You Have a Sister You Love, You'll Love This Book
    This is a very hard-to-put-down story about a young British woman living and working in NYC who goes back to London when her younger sister goes missing. She tries to find out what happened and why. The story is believable although almost no one believes the older sister's views about what the younger sister did or would have done. As the older sister starts to look into her sister's life, she begins believing/trusting no one, as does the reader. It's told as a letter to the missing sister, with some back and forth in the timeline. The story is beautifully paced, giving the reader clues a little bit at a time. As enjoyable and well done as the mystery was, equally compelling were heart-breaking moments of the bond between sisters.
  • Carolyn A. (Questa, NM)


    Sister
    If you have ever suffered the sudden, unexpected death of a young loved one, this book will have you reliving the horror of those days. It is nonetheless, a compelling read, a book you cannot put down. You will be asking yourself who and why again and again. I'm not sure the ending really answers those questions. But I am recommending this book to discerning readers.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.