Advance reader reviews of The Tender Mercy of Roses

The Tender Mercy of Roses

A Novel

by Anna Michaels

The Tender Mercy of Roses
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  May 2011
    336 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for The Tender Mercy of Roses
Order Reviews by:
  • Darcy C. (San Diego, CA)


    The Tender Mercy of Roses
    This book had such a lovely way in which it described all of the occurrences of “magic” in the world. The way that certain moments were described and how those moments felt mysterious and held extra meaning was just one of the elements of this story that grabbed me! I really got into the story and was rooting for both Pony (even though she had already died) --- the way her spirit kept fighting was like an supernatural sleuth and Jo Beth -- the tough dame who is bent on finding out who killed Pony. I know that sounds corny, but there wasn't anything corny about this book. If I had to describe the book in one word it would be: haunting. Not like a spooky book, but a book that you find yourself thinking about even weeks after you have read it. It was that good! The author has a lovely voice in this book. I found myself hoping that I might be able to use the same eloquence in my life as the author did in this novel. The descriptive language was a joy to read and just roll around the words in your mind. This was such a lovely book.
  • Colleen L. (Casco, ME)


    Tender Mercy Of Roses
    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel. It had a bit of everything in it - redemption, magic, suspense and mystery. What I enjoyed most was the quality of the author's writing. When I start to read a book, I like to have the first chapter grab me. Then I like to have the story pull me in and keep me going so that I forget how many hours I have spent reading. This author did that for me. The story flowed smoothly and effectively. I loved the author's development of her characters as well as her story line.

    This was a very quick read and I was sad when the book ended. I loved the Cherokee roses that the author introduced into the novel. I thought that the addition of this made the novel very special. I sincerely hope that Anna Michaels writes more books as I will be waiting in line to purchase & read them.
  • Gail G. (Northbrook, Illinois)


    fantastic read
    The characters in he book are fantastic. It was difficult for me to accept their super human qualities but as I got into the story they became real and it didn't matter how unusual their qualities were. They became believable with all their problems. All the characters in the story needed the tender mercy of the roses--I believe it means that the Spirit World would look after them and help with their problems.The character who needed the most help was Jo Beth Dawson caught in a web of alcoholism and psychological pain a prison from which she could not escape without this help. I was mostly interested in the development of the characters than the answer to the question " who done it! I really hated for the book to end. Obviously I loved this book and would rate it a 10 if possible. Hopefully the author, Anna Michaels, will have more stories to tell, and I thank her for such an enjoyable read.
  • Carole P. (Framingham, MA)


    The Tender Mercy of Roses
    This spellbinding book has it all. Mystery, mysticism, family secrets, and above all else love. Beautifully written, it draws you in from the start.

    Although totally different from these two books, it reminded me of how I felt reading "The Help" and "Room". A chill up my back, the need to keep reading and sadness when the book ended.
  • Wendy F. (Kalamazoo, MI)


    Tender Mercy of Roses
    The Tender Mercy of Roses is a look into family secrets kept and how they can affect those generations to come. The prose in this book is at times insightful, lyrical and homespun. Pony Jones’ ghost meanders through the story to uncover secrets of the rodeo as well as those of her family. The intertwining of souls lost and found introduce us to Pony, Jo Beth, and Titus and how their lives are interconnected. I really enjoyed this one!
  • Elinor S. (Naples, FL)


    Tender Mercy of Roses
    I loved this book. The writing was poetic and spiritual. The theme of turning desperation into hope was uplifting. I'm going to plant some Cherokee roses in my garden and think of the wonderful characters in this book when I look at them. Kudos to Anna Michaels.
  • Kay W. (West Hills, CA)


    Wonderful Story
    I loved the characters from the first written word describing them until the ending where I sobbed.

    Normally I am not an emotional person but the writing and vivid descriptions by this author and of this wonderful story brought me to my knees. Some of the aspects of the story seemed a little fanciful at first but I came to understand their contributions to the telling of the story. The dynamics of the characters and their families were complicated and sad. I highly recommend this book.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
    by Bryn Greenwood

    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.