Advance reader reviews of Outlander

Outlander

by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon X
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jun 1991
    640 pages
    Genre: Romance

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 39 member reviews
for Outlander
Order Reviews by:
  • Vicky S. (Torrance, CA)


    Can't Believe I'd MIssed it Until Now
    There is so much going on in this book just like the cover describes. It has something for everyone with history, romance, timetravel etc. I liked that the main characters had to make very serious choices that effect the lives of themselves as well as others around them. The main female character is also quite able to take care of herself in a variety of circumstances. All of these situations would create great discussions for book clubs.
  • Kelly H. (Martinsville, IN)


    Fantastic Adventure!
    Wow! Outlander is an adventure, romance, and historical fiction novel rolled into one. Gabaldon's research is amazing! I never though I would be so happy learning about 18th century Scotland, but told by Gabaldon, it's captivating. At 600 pages, it's too long and involved for the book club I'm in, but I think it could be tackled by serious book clubbers. Don't finish this book without having the next one in the series on your nightstand!
  • Steve B. (Spring, TX)


    Captivating Chronicle
    When I saw that Outlander consisted of 850 pages of small type, I doubted that the author could hold my interest for such an extended period. Boy, was I wrong. The pace was brisk and the content was absorbing. I hated to put it down.

    The plot presents a number of moral and ethical dilemmas for the hero and especially the heroine. She manages to justify her actions and gains support from friends and clergy. To sum up the moral of this story I would say... Love (or Lust?) conquers all!
  • Shelby L. (Hamden, CT)


    Superb read
    When I received Outlander I was sure I'd never get into it since time travel is not my thing nor are lengthy historical novels. Was I ever wrong. There is not much to add that hasn't been said in the other reviews but ignore the naysayers among them and read this. Love, lust, violence, history, war, religion..it's all there and so well written, it's hard to put down.
  • Martha L. (Warner, NH)


    a WOW book for me
    I have just come back from the past - the seventeen hundreds to be more precise. Jamie and Claire have brought me hours of joy, horror, laughter, fear and love. The size of the book overwhelmed me at first, until I read the first couple of chapters by then I was so entranced by the characters and the setting that I forgot about the page count and all the household chores. I am looking forward to reading more of Diana Gabaldon's books in this series. This book is now easily one of my favorites of all times!
  • Kim L. (cary, IL)


    burning desire
    It took me until around page 260 to really get interested in this book. The book starts slowly with a great deal of background information, but once the story got going I couldn't put this book down. The characters were so real and genuinely likable. I fell in love with the main characters. The story drags at times with all of the details, but it is a quick read. I can't wait to read the next book.
  • Janet H. (Lakeland, FL)


    WOW
    This book is amazing...what an adventure! This is a very busy time of the year for me and yet I couldn't put the book down. I especially loved the time travel aspect. I am anxious to continue in the series, my only hesitation being the violence. Outlander is very well written and a pleasure to read.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.