Advance reader reviews of Three Seconds

Three Seconds

by Anders Roslund & Borge Hellstrom

Three Seconds
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jan 2011
    496 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 39 member reviews
for Three Seconds
Order Reviews by:
  • Judith W. (Brooklyn, NY)


    Faster than a speeding bullet, it's..................
    Once I suspended my disbelief, I found this book completely engrossing. I also enjoyed the experience of rooting both for the 'criminal' and the detective and found the ending completely satisfying. Great characters and action!
  • Andrea L. (Cottonwood Heights, UT)


    Full of intrigue
    This book is a very fast paced, well written thriller. The characters are well developed and the reader knows just enough background information at each twist and turn to sustain the tension and intrigue. I was fascinated to learn the differences and similarities between the Swedish and American penal systems, trusting that the author's backgrounds gave them enough insider information to accurately dramatize the truth.
  • Judith P. (rosebud, missouri)


    A study of the human dilemma.
    This is not only a fascinating crime thriller, but a study of how we deal with the complexities of the state of our lives. How our character is shown in each roll we all play in others lives and our own. The novel start slow and build to a satisfying end. Villains and heroes all reach an appropriate reward.
  • Jen F. (Saratoga, CA)


    Excellent choice for suspense lovers
    Three Seconds delivers a fast-paced thriller for those that enjoy a good suspense novel.
  • Jane C. (Brighton, MI)


    Three Seconds
    The best book that I have read in a long time. Not the normal genre that I would choose off the shelf. Prison, drugs, intrigue, murder, police informants, and withholding of information make this an intriguing book. Twists and turns in many directions have you sitting on the edge of your seat to see what happens on the next page. Fast moving from start to finish. My guess is that this will be a best seller in the United States, also.
  • Peggy H. (North East, PA)


    Gripping Page Turner
    Wow! I just couldn't put this one down! Intelligent, intriguing--and even better, I didn't even guess the end. The characters are well drawn and realistic. Would love to read more by these authors!
  • Paula K. (Cave Creek, AZ)


    Three Seconds - A Wild, Satisfying Ride
    The book took hold from the first page and didn’t let go until the last line. At the heart of the book are the well-drawn and very gripping characters including Piet Hoffman, an ex-con and former military man caught up in an intrigue that would have made a lesser man a pawn. Then we have Ewert Grens. Not having read any of the earlier Roslund & Hellstrom books, I had not yet made his acquaintance but definitely plan to go back and get to know him in the earlier books. We pick up at a particular painful part of his life with the passing of his wife. With both characters, we experience personal redemption as well as vanquishing of others whose self-serving motivations have gone unchecked for a very long time. This was an intricate, sophisticated plot, fantastic pacing and a very satisfying close. Wonderful!

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.