Advance reader reviews of Wrecker

Wrecker

A Novel

by Summer Wood

Wrecker
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Feb 2011
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 25 member reviews
for Wrecker
Order Reviews by:
  • La Deana R. (Norman, OK)


    Wrecker
    As the mother of an adopted son, I often envisioned my child in the position that Wrecker was left in life. At 3 years old, the only person he ever loved was incarcerated. An uncle and mentally handicapped aunt "rescue" him and try to raise him. Or did he rescue them? Wrecker is the magnetic force that combines a random group of people who band together to raise him and love him. In the process, they grow to love and accept each other, warts and all! While the "family" Wrecker ends up in may not be conventional, the book deftly makes us realize love is all that is really needed to make up a family. Love is all that is needed to make all the difference in the world in the life of a child. This is a finely worded, uplifting book and a great story. I would recommend it for anyone wanting a change of pace!
  • Gail L. (Maitland, FL)


    Wrecker the Abandoned Child
    Wrecker is a book I didn't want to end. Our social system for children is so unpredictable with so many children being moved many times that reading Wrecker shows what can happen to a child who is left in one place. The story of Wrecker begins when he is 3 years old and ends when he's 20 and the years between are portrayed by the author with much flavor, dimension and tenderness. Many people are involved in his child-rearing who are fraught with problems, seeking their own solutions. Wrecker impacts each person's life in a different and profound way. Book clubs would have many avenues to explore after reading the book. This book could very easily continue in a sequel showing what Wrecker does with his life - the decisions he makes and how he raises his own children. Great read.
  • Gunta K. (Glens Falls, NY)


    Loss and Resiliency
    "Wrecker" is an important tome. Should be read by young and old. Several people, having adversely suffered from the winds of life, come together in a remote spot of nature, to heal themselves. To start anew. By his accident of birth, they find Wrecker in their midst, a very young boy who needs healing himself, as well as, an inordinate amount of care and love. The story is vibrant, full of most interesting characters. Of resiliency of the human spirit. Of never giving up. Of adults, more or less strangers to this small child, being able to put themselves aside in totality and place the boy and his needs first and actually learn to love him. I recommend this book to all, regardless of age, the story has backbone.
  • Debra P. (Belmont, NC)


    It takes a village!
    I was really moved by this story. It is so revealing as to how we often treat the most vulnerable in our society... our children...Wrecker had a rough beginning, but he became a blessing to several others just because of his situation. I loved the way each character was impacted by the events and received clarity into their own situations as a result of knowing Wrecker. I became engulfed in this boy's life as I waited to see how things were going to turn out and it was a "page turner." This book reminded me a little of "The Glass Castle" by Jeannette Walls. I will definitely recommend it for my book group because I know we will have some very interesting discussions.
  • Carolyn A. (Questa, NM)


    Wrecker
    "Wrecker" is an eloquent, loving, human book. It grabs you on the first page and never lets you go. The characters are utterly perfect. As an older reader, I often forget the names of people in books. Not this one. Wrecker is a book that will stay with you for a long time.
  • Penny P. (Santa barbara, Calif)


    Wrecker......worth a read
    I really enjoyed reading this book. It was a very descriptive story with characters that seemed to come alive. The little boy had parts of any little boy I have ever known. The other characters in the book were truly unique. While it was sad to see the boy taken from his mother, he probably had a much better (certainly more interesting life) with his "adopted family". I think almost anyone who reads the book will like it.
  • Colleen L. (Casco, ME)


    Wrecker
    What a well written novel! From the start of the first page to the end, the book grabs your attention and never lets you down. I very much enjoy books that explore non-conventional families. Each person that comes into Wrecker's life at the farm has issues of their own and yet shows compassion and understanding for Wrecker's life situation. I like the way the author draws these issues out. She takes her time in discussing each and every character instead of rushing to tell you the details of each person's life immediately. You get to know these people and feel sympathy for both them and Wrecker. You end up truly caring what happens to these characters. Any reader interested in reading about complex relationships and interesting characters will truly enjoy this book. Summer Woods wrote a best seller as far as I am concerned.

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
    Here I Am
    by Jonathan Safran Foer
    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.