Advance reader reviews of An Incomplete Revenge

An Incomplete Revenge

A Maisie Dobbs Mystery

by Jacqueline Winspear

An Incomplete Revenge
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Feb 2008
    320 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 member reviews
for An Incomplete Revenge
Order Reviews by:
  • Marie (Waretown NJ)


    A complete pleasure!
    I happily anticipated reading Winspear’s latest in her Maisie Dobbs series, having read and enjoyed the previous books so very much. She recreates the pre/post World War I era in England superbly. I was not disappointed!

    Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs makes her life’s journey with intelligence, grit and courage and commands respect from all who encounter her. She is a woman who has the audacity to become both a psychologist and an investigator at a time when women had few options. Winspear resolves her complex plots and character motivations very skillfully.

    In our harried high-tech world, it is refreshing to recall a time when letters were eagerly awaited and phone calls were luxuries!
  • Joyce (Rochester MN)


    An Incomplete Revenge
    An enjoyable read! This is the best Maisie Dobbs novel to date. Winspear has fine tuned entwining mystery, history and setting. Maisie is a warm, caring, young woman who is talented at interpreting people's body language and what they are not saying in order to solve mysteries. She ties up all the loose ends, and I can't wait for Jacqueline Winspear's next Maisie book!
  • Priscilla (Houston TX)


    An Incomplete Revenge
    Although this was the fifth in a series about a WW1 era private investigator named Maisie Dobbs, it was the first I had read by this author. Set in London and the nearby towns, it was rich in details about this period in English history.

    Jacqueline Winspear does a wonderful job of creating believable characters dealing with the broken pieces of their lives after WW1. I thoroughly enjoyed "living" in this era while watching Maisie unearth clues to discover who is setting small fires in a village. She reminds me a bit of a young Miss Marple in the way she gains the confidence of the residents of the village.
  • Linda (Corydon IN)


    An Incomplete Revenge by Jacqueline Winspear
    I really enjoyed this book. As an Anglophile, I recognized many of the geographical details. I thought her descriptions of the era were very good. The plot was believable and the suspense certainly held my interest. I would recommend it to anyone especially book clubs and readers of historical fiction. I plan to read her other Maisie Dobbs book very soon.
  • Fran (Baltimore OH)


    An Incomplete Revenge
    I have been a fan of Jacqueline Winspear since she wrote her first "Maisie Dobbs" novel. I especially like British mysteries and have read no others with a female investigator that take place in the pre-and post-WWI years. The author gives enough background in this book for the reader to be familiar with the recurring characters in the previous four books, but I would recommend reading them in order. I am envious of those who are new to this series and have the opportunity to relish five well-written historical mysteries!
  • Elizabeth (Apple Valley MN)


    A
    This was a real treat for the Maisie Dobbs fan! As with Jacqueline Winspear's past Maisie books, the story was clever and the period details convincing. The storyline kept me guessing for a good portion of the book and was chilling as it took shape. It has several themes that would be interesting for bookclubs to discuss. I'd definitely recommend this book.
  • Robert (Charleston IL)


    A Quiet, Compelling Mystery
    This unusual detective series keeps getting better with each installment. Maisie Dobbs is an original creation; she’s thoughtful and deliberate, but not dull. The post-World War I setting adds intrigue and some emotional punch to the plot (which is also quite unusual). I found this an easy, engaging read. I recommend it for readers who don’t need a lot of overwrought action and manufactured suspense in their mysteries.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

One-Month Free Membership

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Harmony
    Harmony
    by Carolyn Parkhurst
    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
    Commonwealth
    by Ann Patchett
    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...
  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
    A Gentleman in Moscow
    by Amor Towles
    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Tea Planter's Wife
    by Dinah Jefferies

    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Darling Days
    by iO Tillett Wright

    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Blood at the Root

Blood at the Root

"A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
- PW Starred Review

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

D C Y C Before T A H

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.