Advance reader reviews of The Crossing Places

The Crossing Places

A Ruth Galloway Mystery

by Elly Griffiths

The Crossing Places
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jan 2010
    304 pages
    Genre: Mysteries

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 member reviews
for The Crossing Places
Order Reviews by:
  • Jane D. (Boulder, CO)


    The Crossing Places by Elly Griffiths
    Ruth Galloway is a delightful, human, and quirky character. This is a fun and exciting mystery, while also offering interesting tidbits of archeology, ancient cultures, and Norse mythology. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
  • Betty B. (Irving, TX)


    A New Mystery Series
    I am a frequent reader of British mysteries and am always on the lookout for a series new to me. I'm so glad to be introduced to Elly Griffiths and The Crossing Places. I was hooked 20 pages in by the main characters... and the locale. And now I am looking forward to seeing the relationships develop and to learn more about the history of this section of England. I would have liked to have had a second map locating Norfolk and the Saltmarsh on a map of England. But all in all a very good read.
  • Kay W. (West Hills, CA) avid reader


    Elly Griffiths' The Crossing Places
    I was hooked from the beginning. Dr. Ruth Galloway's character is finely drawn and someone you can relate to and all the characters are believable and unique at the same time. Bringing the current time and the very distant past together was intriguing. The plot moves without a false step and you enjoy going along for the ride. A wonder read and I look forward to further adventures with Dr. Ruth Galloway.
  • Anne M. (Austin, TX)


    Mystery on the Flats
    Elly Griffiths' new mystery is set on the Norfolk salt marshes in eastern England, and the bleak surroundings match perfectly the desolation felt by the families of two young girls who have gone missing from the area. Ten years pass between the two disappearances, with the same policeman in charge of both cases; however, in the latter case, he is "assisted" by a local archeologist, Ruth Galloway. Ruth's solitary life on the marshes is disrupted in more ways than one by the intrusion of this mystery, and Griffiths does an excellent job of making the reader feel the loneliness of the area and of Ruth herself -- and of the changes that occur to both.
  • Carol C. (Troy, NY)


    The Crossing Place by Elly Griffiths
    I thoroughly enjoyed this English mystery ,set on the east coast of Norfolk. The book is atmospheric without being gloomy, the characters interesting because of their flaws and not the lack thereof. Beneath the mystery plot, the book, as suggested by the title, delves into boundaries: emotional, professional, personal, ethical and, of course, physical. A final plot twist at the end hints at even more upheaval in books to come. I look forward to Ms Griffiths' next book in the series.
  • Juliet F. (clarendon hills, IL)


    Loved it!
    What's not to love? Archeology, history, mysticism, mystery, suspense. A likable female lead character, the promise of a series, and a pleasing, low-key humor. Easy read, but with enough meat to be interesting. Thumbs up!
  • Joyce S. (Dyersburg, TN)


    Hard to put down yet comfy read
    I will definitely read any future books in this series. The archeological significance of this coastal England setting is key to the identity and presence of the characters involved. Fortyish Ruth, single, reclusive, college professor, is pulled into the investigation of a murder/disappearance of two little girls. Her fusty specialty in ancient bones is no proper preparation for dealing with colleagues and friends who turn out to be different than she thought and her self acknowledged lack of fitness is a serious handicap in some most unpleasant forays into an inhospitable landscape. I liked the character, the plot and the writing style.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
    by Scott Stambach
    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
    Boy Erased
    by Garrard Conley
    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
    The Bones of Grace
    by Tahmima Anam
    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Underground Airlines
    by Ben Winters

    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

    Read Member Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The Book That Matters Most
    by Ann Hood

    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

    Read Member Reviews

Book Discussions
Book Jacket
This Must Be the Place
by Maggie O'Farrell

An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

The Kopp Sisters Return!

One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

Manners M (T) M

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

 
X

Free Weekly Newsletter

Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.