Read advance reader review of Peach Blossom Spring by Melissa Fu

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Peach Blossom Spring

A Novel

by Melissa Fu

Peach Blossom Spring by Melissa Fu X
Peach Blossom Spring by Melissa Fu
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Mar 2022, 400 pages

    Genres

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 36 member reviews
for Peach Blossom Spring
Order Reviews by:
  • Karen S. (Orlando, FL)
    A Beautiful Story
    Melissa Fu presents a beautiful story of family, love, resilience, and determination through the eyes of a young mother and her son. This historical fiction takes us across China, Taiwan, and the United States over the course of 50 years. The book offers an insightful look at the struggle to survive while escaping political upheaval and to begin a new life in another country.

    Ms Fu has written a wonderful and moving story. I was drawn in immediately and did not want to put the book down. Through her words, I could see each family member and the landscape that they traveled. I highly recommend Peach Blossom Spring, especially for a book club discussion.
  • Mary O. (Boston, MA)
    A Chinese Chronicle
    An outstanding historical debut spanning three generations in modern China. At times heartbreaking, at times uplifting. You are confronted with war, misfortune and issues of immigration. We are always a product of our history and the choices we make. A MUST READ!
  • Mary B. (St Paul, MN)
    Peach Blossom Spring
    This was an incredible book. From the very beginning it held me in. The story is divided into sections by years, starting in 1938 and ending in 2005. Each section could have been its own novel. I was left wanting to know more about each time frame! The story revolves around a multi generational family starting in China in 1938. The central characters are forced to flee their home for a new life. This happens several times, always leaving them vulnerable. The novel deals with love , loss, inner strength, and the ability to move forward no matter what the challenge. The story at times is heartbreaking, but hopeful, indicative of the stark reality of refugees and migration. Given the events of the word today makes this story very relevant. Along with all the historical background it would be a great book for book clubs or an individual reader.
  • Nancy E. (Sturgeon Bay, WI)
    Peach Blossom Spring
    From 1938 to the present day, this is the story of a mother Mailin and her son Renshu as they struggle to stay ahead of the Japanese army as they move through China, cross to Taipei and eventually to America. The events of history guide the characters on their journey and strengthen them. Mailin and Renshu are very likable for their courage. Woven throughout the story are folktales that enhance the novel.

    As a Pearl Buck fan, I enjoyed the book immensely.
  • Lisa O. (Brewster, NY)
    Peach Blossom Spring by Melissa Fu
    This debut novel took about 75 pages to draw me in, but after that, I couldn't put it down. This debut was an excellent historical fiction/multigenerational family story. I enjoyed learning about the effects of the Japanese invasion and subsequent Chinese Civil War, along with the Asian migration experience in the United States during the last half of the 20th century. Meillin, her son Renshu/Henry and his daughter Lily were all very well written and complex characters. The power of storytelling and finding "Home" are strong themes throughout the novel. The main criticism I have is that the ending felt a little rushed. I would have liked to see more about Henry and Rachel's relationship as well Overall, this was a solid 4.25 stars for me.
  • Carol R. (North Mankato, MN)
    A Story of Resilience
    There is so much I learned from this multi-generational story but mostly it portrays resilience during periods of war, poverty, betrayal and loss for the Dao family as they are forced to start over numerous times. Meilin is the main character and mother to Renshu (Henry, his American name). It is a story of immigrants and the enormous loyalties to family and history. I learned so much about the displacement of Chinese to Taiwan and other places and the struggles of these immigrants to adjust and belong in a new culture. This would make a great book club discussion and help us all understand what it means to be an immigrant and suffer the loss of one's cultural identity.
  • Marcia C. (Jeffersonville, PA)
    Peach Blossom Spring
    The Introduction to Peach Blossom Spring speaks to us about the origin of storytelling in a culture which places great value on the telling of stories. Melissa Fu has, in very beautiful prose, reminded her readers about how stories spring to life and how they then take on a life of their own.
    This book follows a single Chinese family through decades, beginning with the occupation of China by the Japanese in 1938 and ending with the blossoming of a small peach orchard in Albuquerque, New Mexico in 2005.The underpinning of Peach Blossom Spring is a series of stories told by a Chinese mother to her young son—stories that are meant to instill values which will help him throughout his life no matter the difficulties confronting him.
    In this her debut novel Melissa Wu proves herself to be a gifted storyteller in her own right. This is a beautiful book, well worth reading. A great book for book clubs—lots of discussion material and lots of material for personal reflection.

Beyond the Book:
  Chinese Handscrolls

Join BookBrowse

and discover exceptional books
for just $3.25 per month.

Find out more


Top Picks

  • Book Jacket: We Had to Remove This Post
    We Had to Remove This Post
    by Hanna Bervoets
    It's not about money. Kayleigh, the protagonist and narrator of We Had to Remove This Post, a newly ...
  • Book Jacket: River of the Gods
    River of the Gods
    by Candice Millard
    The Nile River has provided vital resources for millennia, serving as a source of water, food and ...
  • Book Jacket: Horse
    Horse
    by Geraldine Brooks
    Geraldine Brooks creates a powerful backstory for 19th-century thoroughbred racehorse Lexington, ...
  • Book Jacket: Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance
    by Alison Espach
    Notes on Your Sudden Disappearance will make you ache for a loss you didn't experience as you relate...

Book Club Discussion

Book Jacket
Hamnet
by Maggie O'Farrell
"Of all the stories...about Shakespeare’s life, [Hamnet] is so gorgeously written that it transports you."
The Boston Globe

Members Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    Fruiting Bodies
    by Kathryn Harlan

    A genre-bending debut collection of stories full of desire, wisdom, and magic blooming amidst decay.

  • Book Jacket

    One's Company
    by Ashley Hutson

    For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh this fearless debut chronicles one woman's escape into a world of obsessive imagination.

Win This Book!
Win Where the Crawdads Sing

Win a signed copy of Where the Crawdads Sing

In celebration of the movie release on July 15, we have three signed copies to give away.

Enter

Wordplay

Solve this clue:

T O Thing W H T F I F I

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.