Read advance reader review of Greek to Me by Mary Norris

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Greek to Me

Adventures of the Comma Queen

by Mary Norris

Greek to Me by Mary Norris X
Greek to Me by Mary Norris
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Apr 2019, 240 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 20 member reviews
for Greek to Me
Order Reviews by:
  • Mary P. (Bellingham, WA)


    Greek to Me
    The author, Mary Norris, is an unabashed devotee of Greece-- its language, culture, history. ancient remains. Her enthusiasm comes through in this memoir, written with love and humor. Greece, here I come!
  • Patricia G. (Dyer, IN)


    Ode on a Grecian Yearning
    I thoroughly enjoyed traveling with Mary Norris through her experience of all things Greek, both ancient and modern. I truly learned something new on every page, and her vibrant voice and comprehensive scholarship brought each detail to life. Although I do not expect to visit in person, I loved vicariously being there through Mary's enthusiastic retelling.
  • Marganna K. (Edmonds, WA)


    Delightful
    I love this book primarily for Mary Norris' writing style. The book is a memoir, a travelogue & a study of all things Greek. Admittedly this book won't appeal to all but what a fun romp through Greece with Ms. Norris! As a lover of language I am in awe of her story - I'm quite challenged by any foreign language - and learning more about mythology has been on my bucket list forever.
    For me this book was not a quick read - each page is packed with rewarding goodness ! I loved the author's humor & ability to share such beautiful insights about her love of all things Greek. I will be reading her other books & will recommend this book wholeheartedly.
  • Susan L. (Alexandria, VA)


    Greek Immersion
    Norris indulges her love of all things Greek in this book and shares her passion for the language, both modern and ancient, as well as for the people and culture of Greece. The book was a delightful introduction to a land that changed and influenced language itself.
  • Mary Anne R. (Towson, MD)


    Greek To Me
    Mary Norris' memoir shows how her love of things Greek-the language,the history and the myths-blended with her life experience of joys and sorrows to define who she is.

    I found the in this author a kindred spirit because I too fell in love with Greece ago. The author's memoir brought to mind experiences that I too enjoyed.

    I loved the author's writing style.She is introspective,humble and witty. I especially liked the unexpected moments where I laughed out loud.

    This small book has a wealth of information. I took notes and researched many of the places that inspired her.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who has had a love affair with Greece or would like to have.
  • Lindsay R. (Franklin, TN)


    Greek To Me
    I really enjoyed this book. I was also looking forward to reading it as well. I grew up loving Greek mythology, and this brought back that interest and fun. I enjoyed the history of our words base of Greek interspersed throughout the book. I enjoyed her enthusiasm about all things Greek and the history of the country. I learned so many things: Greek was originally written in all caps; the lower case letters came from the middle ages, mainly to save space. And that omicron means small o. I enjoyed her traveling adventures around Greece and learned much from those travels across the years. She discussed the Greek financial troubles and Cyprus' complicated history. Those with an interest in travel, history and yes, language and mythology will love this book.
    My mother minored in ancient Greek in college (in the 40s) and we often discussed Greek history and mythology. I look forward to sharing this book with her.
  • Ann L. (Park City, UT)


    Excellent book
    But honestly not for me. I tried. I read the beginning then skipped through other portions of the book, and it did not pique my interest and i could not identify. Has nothing to do with quality of writing. Looks well written and developed. I will pass it along to other(s) who I feel will enjoy and better identify.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.