Read advance reader review of American Princess by Stephanie Marie Thornton

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Beyond the book |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

American Princess

A Novel of First Daughter Alice Roosevelt

by Stephanie Marie Thornton

American Princess by Stephanie Marie Thornton X
American Princess by Stephanie Marie Thornton
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Published:
    Mar 2019, 448 pages

  • Rate this book


Book Reviewed by:
BookBrowse First Impression Reviewers
Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 22 member reviews
for American Princess
Order Reviews by:
  • Ariel F. (Madison, WI)


    American Princess - Alice Roosevelt Longworth
    This historical fiction was a joy to read. I found American Princess to be both educational and interesting. Prior to reading the book, I had just a little knowledge about Alice Roosevelt (Longworth). After reading this fascinating book, I felt that I had to learn more about her.
  • Martha S. (Mentor, OH)


    American Princess: A Novel of First Daughter Alice Roosevelt
    The "American Princess", also known as "The Other Washington Monument", Alice Roosevelt Longworth. Alice was born into an influential and political family. In spite of having these advantages, Alice didn't want any of them, only wanting to forge her own way in the world. Her parents were cold to her and she craved their attention. Once she became of age, she jumped into her own wild ways, shocking her parents and the Country in general. She flirted with many men and lost her heart to a man much like herself. Still, she was courageous, brash and inventive. She was open to everything and way ahead of her "time". Eventually she wanted children and once she had a child, she wasn't much better at mothering her daughter than her parents were to her. She lived a very interesting adult life, involved in politics and had an affair. Surprisingly, she became her famous Father's confidant. In the end, Alice lived a very long life, close to the people she loved. I loved this book and what a fascinating character Alice was, living her life as she wanted.
  • Mary G. (Nags Head, NC)


    Engaging story about an engaging woman
    Many children have grown up in the White House but few have inspired as much public interest as the vivacious and audacious Alice Roosevelt--and this was well before the days of social media scrutiny. American Princess captures the vivacious personality and audacious nature of this fascinating young woman by telling her story in the first person.
  • Darra W. (Mendocino, CA)


    Fun, Fast-Paced Historical Fiction
    Had publications like People, Rolling Stone, and The National Inquirer existed at the dawn of the 20th century, no doubt Miss Alice Roosevelt would have been a frequent cover girl. Stephanie Thorton’s take on the adventures of this larger-than-life “first daughter” reveals a young woman whose hunger for public attention came second only to her quest for the affection of her often-distant father. The result is a fast-paced, fact-based roller coaster of a fiction that is, in turns, both exhilarating and heartbreaking. Book clubs will find much to discuss while examining—among other timely topics—the role of the press in shaping our opinions of public figures. Loved it!
  • Betty


    American Princess
    I just finished reading American Princess. I found the book both entertaining and educational. I particularly liked the stories of time spent at Sagamore Hill since I have had the pleasure of touring the home.
  • Ruth O. (Downingtown, PA)


    Great novel about an American icon
    'American Princess' is the novelization of the life of Alice Roosevelt Longworth, daughter of President Theodore Roosevelt and his first wife (who died 2 days after Alice’s birth). I knew very little about Alice, although I had heard of her. This book was very informative about the history of the ‘other’ Washington Monument, which is what Alice was called in her later years. She was ornery and combative as a young woman, but she later put those traits to good use for political influence in the intimate salons of Washington, DC. Alice was personally acquainted with all the US Presidents from William McKinley to Jimmy Carter, indeed a long lifespan of influence. Her actions often infuriated me, but she was definitely an icon to be remembered. I found this book very enjoyable and highly recommend it.
  • Wendy F. (Kalamazoo, MI)


    Loved it!
    I loved this book! Reading the accounts of the historical Alice Roosevelt Longworth was truly a pleasure. Alice had a complicated relationship with her father Theodore which is reminiscent of many of us. Scandals abound in a time where these things were kept under wraps. This colorful character was a true patriot although I was disappointed to learn that she was not sold on women's suffrage. It was also interesting to hear about the falling out with the other Roosevelts, Franklin and Eleanor. Ms. Thornton's writing was a delight.

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.