Read advance reader review of My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

My Lovely Wife

by Samantha Downing

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing X
My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Mar 2019
    384 pages
    Genre: Thrillers

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 39 member reviews
for My Lovely Wife
Order Reviews by:
  • Laura E. (El Cajon, CA)


    A true page turner!
    Clever, different, interesting and frightening all wrapped up in one engrossing tale. This book's twists and turns kept me intrigued and disturbed at the same time. It takes the reader to some dark places and makes one stop and wonder how a normal looking (to the outside world) middle-class marriage can be so dysfunctional and messed up. What a tale! I think this would be a good one for Book Clubs and also anyone looking for a well written page turner. I was also fascinated that the book was written by a woman. It was pitch perfect told in the words of the main character, the husband. Samantha Downing, outstanding job!
  • George M. (Antioch, CA)


    Ozzie & Harriet, With a Twist
    My Lovely Wife is a great lesson in the Law of Unintended Consequences. I mean, you take a middle class couple with two adolescent kids who have added an odd extracurricular activity to their family dynamic and you have a recipe for an exciting and gripping and very surprising result. It definitely pays to pay close attention to the story and stick to it til the mind-blowing end. Samantha Downing has really given us a tale that we will find enthralling and exciting and breathless. Read this book and prepare for a great experience
  • Vicky R. (Roswell, GA)


    Twists and turns
    This is my kind of book! Totally off the beaten path and full of twists....thrillers are a trending genre right now and it's difficult to find unique story lines. This one is somewhat unbelievable however it's a fun read and I couldn't wait to see how it ended.
  • Darcy C. (San Diego, CA)


    So Much Fun To Kill !
    This book was such a pleasurable ROMP! A mystery quickly devoured and completely engaging! The story had me thinking of the mystery in my non-reading time. To me, this is the mark of an engaging read. Downing's story is not an in-depth dive into a killer's psyche. The family is not fleshed-out, yet this didn't detract from this tightly-wound murder mystery. It's entertaining and had beautifully dark overtones. The husband was emasculated by his controlling wife and I would have like this more explored. I felt this to be a story weakness.

    The book's premise of a bored suburban couple spicing up the pabulum of their marital life with murder – here and there. This was a great hook and this same hook kept me on the author's fishing pole throughout its entirety. Not every mystery has to be Capote's "In Cold Blood" and that's the space where this novel shines. I hope you will be gripped by the snappy dialog, the wry social observations and surprised by who ends up dead. Lastly, there are some dynamite plot twists that utterly thrilled me. Get this book, you'll have a great romp!
  • JW Davis, CA


    Who is the psychopath?
    This story is GOOD. Haven't enjoyed a mystery/thriller as much as this in a very long time. Just when the reader thinks they know it all - they don't! It is creepy and disturbing but so well constructed that one cannot put it down. The characters are believable and clever and their deeds fit their personas.

    Samantha Downing has a great future ahead of her if she can turn out more stories like this one. I look forward to that future.
  • Kathleen W. (New Brighton,, MN)


    Have you ever......?
    Have you ever submitted a request for a First Impressions book, waited a week or two for its arrival....and read it ALL in 2 sittings? Such was the case with me and my copy of MY LOVELY WIFE by Samantha Downing. I read half of the book one night and got up early the next morning to finish the other half because... I JUST HAD TO KNOW! This twisted, roller coaster ride/read has just got to be one of the best choices you could make in the thriller category. The couple seems normal on the surface and the family seems beset by all the usual aspects of family life. Beware: this parent/family dynamic is in a class of its own, my friend! The unraveling starts on page 1 (hang on!) and leaves the reader truly gasping as you skid head first into the last sentence on page 371. Action is non stop, main characters are dark and the whole thing is one twisted endeavor... and so much fun. To say anymore would be to say too much. Get it as soon as you can! This author is now on my "Do Not Miss" list!
  • Amy E. (Delaware, OH)


    Nature vs Nurture -- or does it matter
    When "nature" and "nurture" run amok and the resulting adults meet and marry, what evil is created? Do we really know our neighbors and friends?
    These are just a few concerns this book raises. I really enjoyed reading this book and found the author dealt with a difficult topic in a skilled manner.
    The book is a page turner even to the last shocking sentence. Highly recommend it.

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.