Read advance reader review of The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls

by Anissa Gray

The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray X
The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls by Anissa Gray
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Feb 2019
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 40 member reviews
for The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls
Order Reviews by:
  • Di Wolter


    Loved this book!
    Once I started reading, it was a book I couldn't put down. Loved the complex characters, the pacing of the story, the surprises, and the ending! Different in many ways from any book I've read previously. Bravo, Ms. Gray! Keep writing!
  • Jennie R. (Highland, CA)


    Congratulations to Ms. Gray on this debut!
    What an excellent read. The female characters in this novel were so well drawn...I had a mental image of each one in my head as I read this novel. So real, so compelling, so complicated and juicy and messy. Just like a real family. Completely believable and relatable for most readers I think. Interesting look at relationships between mothers, daughters, siblings and lovers and how fragile they can be. Just enough tension and heart. I can't wait to read what the talented Anissa Gray gives us in her next book.
  • Louise E. (Ocean View, DE)


    Coming Together
    I was drawn right into the story because I wanted to know why Althea and her husband were in jail. Even though The Care and Feeding of Ravenously Hungry Girls story was told from Althea and her two sisters' points of view, it was easy to follow. Although the sisters haven't always gotten along they came together to take care of Althea's daughters, Kim and Baby Vi. Along the way you find out their family history and that despite the hardships growing up they still love and support each other. It was interesting because after a while I realized that the title was more than just one sister having an eating disorder, there were other types of hunger they experienced. I was rooting for the sisters and the daughters to resolve some of their issues and they did. I was particularly glad that the aunts were able to help Kim. It's a very interesting story and there is much to discuss for a book club.
  • Martha D. (Hillsboro, OR)


    A story of sisters
    There's something about the dynamics between sisters that is always full of drama. The story was layered and fascinating, I was immediately drawn in and invested in their outcome. A well written and deeply moving novel. I look forward to future books from this author.
  • Lois P. (Hillsborough, NC)


    The Complex Lives of Women
    I was instantly taken into the complex lives of the women in the Butler Family. In this book we see how they have suffered, sacrificed, celebrated and unified to survive and to tend to the needs of the family's female heirs, Little Vi and Kim. Set in rural Michigan, this African American family is very real as they strive to succeed in a world where life is tough.
  • Mary S. (Bow, NH)


    5 Stars, You Should Read This Book!
    Brilliant writing. One of the top 5 books I've read this year (I read around 100 books/yr for context). The character development, the story line, the choice of words are all excellent. The twists and turns of the plot keep you engrossed. This book would hold the interest of the young and old and provides plenty of fodder for book group discussions. I can't wait to read the next book by this author.
  • Peggy H. (North East, PA)


    Family Mosaic
    I truly enjoyed the subject matter of the book; many times I see charity functions for things and wonder...where does the money go; so this was an interesting premise.
    But beyond that, it is really the story of family consequences and how we really don't see beyond what we want to see--even with the family members that we are supposedly the closest to. It took a bit to get used to the switching of voices--we had to get to know everyone, but that was the joy of the book. We did get to know everyone and figure out where each character was coming from. Looking forward to the next book from this author!

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.