Read advance reader review of Golden Child by Claire Adam

Summary | Reviews | More Information | More Books

Golden Child

by Claire Adam

Golden Child by Claire Adam X
Golden Child by Claire Adam
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Jan 2019
    304 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this book

Reviews


Page 1 of 6
There are currently 38 member reviews
for Golden Child
Order Reviews by:
  • Sue D. (Hudsonville, MI)


    Twins
    Golden Child is set in Trinidad and the descriptions of the country, culture, and environs engulf the story. The father of twin boys is ultimately faced with an impossible decision, and they all must deal with the consequences. Claire Adam is an exceptional writer. Her style is spare and succinct and clear and heart wrenching.
  • Diana P. (Schulenburg, TX)


    The Golden Child
    Well written and haunting. The story of a hard working man struggling to support his family in rural Trinidad. He favors one of his twin sons over the other and because of a family betrayal one son is put in danger. It is a profound human story with many emotions.
  • Amy S. (Tucson, AZ)


    Packs the Wallop of a Hurricane
    The number one determining factor for me in choosing a book is the setting. I love learning about places I have never been or know very little about. And, yes, some of the things I learn about new places are tough, and heartbreaking, and they make me angry. But the unhappy, ugly, heartbreaking stories MUST BE TOLD too.

    The book moved slowly for me. And it worked. In a land of hot, humid, oppressive heat, stories take longer to tell. And Claire Adam told it beautifully. She didn't show us the glorious warmth of a beach vacation. This heat was suffocating. It held me down. It made me uncomfortable. That is powerful writing.

    And it built until it exploded- -into a horrific crisis for an entire family, but particularly for the father, who was forced to make a decision no parent should have to. And then later for a son and brother who really knew the true cost of his dream.
  • Elizabeth K. (Dallas, TX)


    Rich, complex, and compelling story
    Claire Adam is an exceptional writer. Her descriptions and characters were so true-to-life that I felt like I was inside the story. Once I started I had to find out what happened to Paul and to his family. Although the ending is bittersweet, this book is an example of transcendent contemporary writing.
  • Gail H. (Live Oak, FL)


    Glimpses into West Indian Culture
    At first, this book was a bit slow & I didn't know if I could be drawn into it. However, I was quite glad that I persevered as the novel began to pull me in more and more. Claire Adam skillfully outlined the lives of Clyde, Joy, and their twins, Peter & Paul, and how they were intertwined with their extended family and the community. The author made me want to learn more about Trinidad and its inhabitants. I would certainly recommend this book to others.
  • Lynn D. (Kingston, NY)


    Family hopes and struggles
    This is a compelling novel that drew me into the story right from the beginning. A Hindu family, with twin sons, Peter and Paul, is working hard to survive in rural Trinidad. Education is highly valued and one son is considered gifted and the other is considered slow. A crime, and betrayal, force the family to consider heartbreaking choices. There is much to consider in this story- family, trust, safety, the expectations we have of each other. I enjoyed the writing which is from several points of view. The sense of place is well developed. I would highly recommend this novel for book clubs. I hope Claire Adam writes more novels.
  • Mary Lou F. (Naples, FL)


    Choices
    Sometimes parents have to make difficult decisions regarding their children. That is exactly what Clyde and Joy had to do regarding their twin sons, Peter and Paul. The turmoil over their decision was very difficult and parents everywhere could have empathy for them. Well written and I highly recommend reading this novel.

Readalikes

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Miracle Creek
    Miracle Creek
    by Angie Kim
    Miracle Creek, the debut novel from Angie Kim, hinges on the mysterious explosion of an oxygen tank....
  • Book Jacket: Courting Mr. Lincoln
    Courting Mr. Lincoln
    by Louis Bayard
    19 out of 21 of our First Impression Reviewers rated Louis Bayard's latest novel, Courting Mr. ...
  • Book Jacket
    Transcription
    by Kate Atkinson
    Over her two-decade-plus career, Kate Atkinson has reinvented herself as a writer several times by ...
  • Book Jacket: Exhalation
    Exhalation
    by Ted Chiang
    Exhalation is an assemblage of nine short stories and novellas written by Ted Chiang, a computer ...

Readers Recommend

  • Book Jacket

    The Guest Book
    by Sarah Blake

    "An American epic in the truest sense…"
    Entertainment Weekly
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Women Rowing North
    by Mary Pipher

    The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of Reviving Ophelia.
    Reader Reviews

Book Club
Book Jacket
Her Kind of Case
by Jeanne Winer

A highly-recommended emotion-filled legal drama with three starred reviews!

About the book
Join the discussion!
Win this book!
Win Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie...

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I I T S Form O F

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends the best in contemporary fiction and nonfiction—books that not only engage and entertain but also deepen our understanding of ourselves and the world around us.