Advance reader reviews of The Necklace

The Necklace

by Claire McMillan

The Necklace by Claire McMillan X
The Necklace by Claire McMillan
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

  • Published in USA  Jul 2017
    320 pages
    Genre: Historical Fiction

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 3
There are currently 21 member reviews
for The Necklace
Order Reviews by:
  • Shirley P. (Colorado Springs, CO)


    I am a sucker...
    ...for a good story. "The Necklace" provides just that - a well written entertaining book that tells it's story from present day back to the 1920's. The necklace refers to an Indian piece of valuable jewelry given as an inheritance to present day estranged member of the Quincy family, Nell. Nell happens to be an attorney, who is well able to defend her gift from her great aunt Lou. And defend it, she must, from other family members as it becomes clear how valuable and unique the necklace is as a past possession of an Indian Maharani. How the necklace came to be a part of the Quincy family's wealth is a good part of the story set in the 1920's. What it means to Nell and her eventual acceptance of the gift is the present day story. Both parts enthrall equally. I really enjoyed this book and recommend it unequivocally.
  • Melanie B. (Desoto, TX)


    Exceptional Book!
    This is one of the best books I've read this year. The interwoven telling of the Moon of Nizam necklace and the Quincy family's secret history result in an intriguing, romantic and suspenseful mystery. I highly recommend this book.
  • Cabin girl


    The Necklace
    The Necklace was a great book. I read it in a couple of days. The writing style was very interesting. Going from 2009 to 1925 in every other chapter, makes you want to read more. You are able to figure out some of the answers to your questions as you go back in time, but you will want to keep reading to put all the family puzzle pieces together. The Indian necklace adds so much to the story. Where did Ambrose get it and why was it given to Nell? You will love reading this book.
  • Judith S. (Binghamton, NY)


    A Lovely Read
    "The Necklace" is a beautifully written novel that is elegant, witty and charming. Claire McMillan's characters are well constructed, believable and each endearing in their own way. The author skillfully and deftly transports the reader between past and present without missing a beat. A pleasure to read. One feels like a member of current and past families after delving into the book.
  • Marion W. (Issaquah, WA)


    "All that glitters..."!
    Hopping back and forth between 1925 and 2009, with various family members (would-be inheritors) vying for a spectacular piece of jewelry, we read of human frailty,competitiveness,
    jealousy, intrigue, and (not to be forgotten), lust! This is an entertaining novel with believable characters and twists of plot. All that is needed is a dust jacket full-color depiction of the necklace, with its diamonds, emeralds, and "sapphire as big as a robin's egg." (Sigh.)
  • Paula B. (Albuquerque, NM)


    The Necklace
    This is a great beach read. It captures a snapshot of the lives of the wealthy around WW I, a time period that is fascinating. The ambiance of the story is so well created that I felt I was surrounded by the events and attitudes of 1917. The extreme wealth of one family and how the players lived in this luxurious time starts the events that play out a hundred years later. The story then moves the family to the present to play out the jealousies and family fortune through an estate. The story invokes a charming mystery about a family heirloom, the necklace. It is a rare story that has an interesting mystery that does not involve murder. The adventure captured from the early 20th century gives the reader a well developed glimpse of a world from a hundred years ago. This is an enjoyable book, worth a read.
  • Bev C. (Latrobe, PA)


    The Necklace
    "Two generations of Quincy women—a bewitching Jazz Age beauty and a young lawyer—bound by a spectacular and mysterious Indian necklace." (publisher's note)

    There are two alternating timelines, 1925 (May Quincy) and 2009 (Nell Quincy).
    Ambrose Quincy returns from abroad bearing a valuable Indian necklace as a dramatic statement of his intention to finally wed May.
    Her letters had become infrequent and he returned to find she had married his brother Ethan. The necklace was still given and a love triangle established.

    In 2009, Nell Quincy is summoned home upon the death of her great aunt Loulou.
    She inherits one item, a valuable necklace that she must locate.

    Our story weaves about aspects of the necklace, both past and present and we are privy to the intense family drama in both generations.

    With respect to my usual readings, I found The Necklace unique and enjoyable.
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.