Advance reader reviews of All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

by Bryn Greenwood

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood X
All the Ugly and Wonderful Things by Bryn Greenwood
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' rating:

     Not Yet Rated
  • Published in USA  Oct 2017
    352 pages
    Genre: Novels

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book


Page 1 of 4
There are currently 28 member reviews
for All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
Order Reviews by:
  • Carol N. (San Jose, CA)


    Roller Coaster Ride
    May I start my saying. . . this was one hard read! Bryn Greenwood's new book has a very controversial nature to its storyline. The subject matter, difficult to comprehend, but one that I understand does exist in this muddied world we live in. Written to disturb and challenge the reader, this novel forces one to look compassionately into the lives of each of its flawed, but memorable characters, Wavy, her little brother, Donal, and Kellen.

    Greenwood uniquely uses multiple narrators to tell her story, some in the first person, others in the third person. That usually does not work for this reader, however, it is this writer's gift when it fits so well that the story flows and the reader doesn't really realize how the story is joined.

    At eight years old, Wavy, the daughter of a meth dealer and a wacky drug addicted mother, is struggling to raise her little brother and be the "responsible" adult in his life. Then she meets Kellen, an ex-con motorcycle mechanic with a heart of gold, who tries to keep her safe and in school. And as the years pass, their unlikely relationship, surrounded by drug dealers, illicit sex and family turmoil, grows until another family member steps in to charge Kellen with statutory rape. The one constant, stable person in her life is taken and Wavy must decide to fight for herself, her family and her relationship.

    This is both an intelligent and honestly written book, I will think about Wavy and her ugly but wonderful world long after having finished Greenwood's emotional roller coaster ride.
  • Ann B. (Kernville, CA)


    The wonderful amid the ugly
    The child of a meth dealer and a strung-out mother, Wavy is an ethereal creature. Parenting is completely absent, until it isn't; then it nurtures nothing but damage. The only tender, nurturing aspect of her gritty, gritty existence comes from Kellen, a tattoo-smattered gorilla of a biker dude who is 14 years Wavy's senior. He falls in love with her at first sight, and the older-than-her-years Wavy is smitten with Kellen as well. Despite the uncomfortably pedaphilic implications, their story works. Greenwood does a masterful job of creating sympathetic characters -- of showing us the wonderful amidst the ugly. I found myself asking, Am I rooting for the love story of a tattooed bruiser of a biker and the way underage child of a meth dealer? Yes. Yes, I am.
  • Sheila B. (Danvers, MA)


    Stark Reality
    I couldn't put this book down, and when I had to, I couldn't stop thinking about it. It's a love story that has changed my perception, once again, of what constitutes love. I know there are realities like this out in the world as painful as that is to comprehend. Bryn is on point in her description of the confusion and survival instincts of being a child in a chaotic, dysfunctional family, one has to wonder how much of it she personally survived. I look forward to her next book and am glad I was chosen to read and comment on this one.
  • Kim


    Perfect Title!
    I could not put this book down. Even though the writing is exceptional, this book is not for everyone as the subject matter is difficult. The author must have experienced some of what happens in this book- it is just too tough to make up.
  • Sandy F. (Davis, CA)


    Give this time to stir your soul
    A book that has layers and where the "wonderful things" seem like they will never happen. It begins slowly and becomes Riveting, heart rending, educational in a way I hope I never need -- well written. Bryn Greenwood had to have lived this. It is too real. A story of lives, child and adult, torn apart by addiction, lack of love, abuse, anger, and full of everything downright ugly. Where salvation for one child comes from someone negatively labeled for heritage and looks,that is the only one that acts with love and honor. Where love lasts through the "impossible" for years and is finally right and "a wonderful thing." Much more to tell and I don't have the skill to convince you this book is hard to put down and even harder to forget. Brilliant!
  • Janet S. (Terrace Park, OH)


    Powerful Read
    This is a tough read and not for everyone. Wavy, the daughter of a drug dealer, has to grow up all to quickly and trusts no one...even her parents. At eight years old she pretty much raises her mother's new baby, when she is still a child herself.

    Fortunately, along comes a friend, Kellen, who helps her and understands exactly what she has/is going through. They become friends and help each other get through all that is happening in their world.

    This is a real life story in the world of drugs, criminals, etc. It's a powerful read.
  • Elizabeth K. (Dallas, TX)


    An unconventional love story
    I couldn't put this one down. The characters are unusual, but they feel like real people, and the story is compelling. Wavy and Kellen are truly star-crossed lovers. You can't help but root for Wavy and Kellen and Donal to be together as a family. I plan to read any future books by Bryn Greenwood.

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...
  • Book Jacket: Mothers of Sparta
    Mothers of Sparta
    by Dawn Davies
    What it's about:
    The tagline on the back cover of Mothers of Sparta says it all: "Some women...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.