Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 13 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

US novelist E.L. Doctorow dies at 84

Jul 21 2015: E.L. Doctorow, critically acclaimed author of the novels Ragtime and Billy Bathgate, has died in a New York hospital of complications from lung cancer. He was 84. In a 50-year career, Doctorow published 10 novels, a stage drama, two books of short fiction and ...

    Full Story

    U.S. Dept of Justice called on to investigate Amazon's business practices

    Jul 13 2015: In an unprecedented joint action, U.S. booksellers, authors, and literary agents called on the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to investigate the business practices of Amazon.com. The action comes as similar efforts are underway in the European Union.

    In a letter ...

      Full Story

      First chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" now available in 3 newspapers

      Jul 10 2015: The first chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" is now available to read in the Wall Street Journal (US), Guardian (UK) and Sydney Morning Herald (Aus). All three also have a recording of Reese Witherspoon reading the first chapter.

      The Wall Street Journal and...

        Full Story

        Poet Tate dies aged 71

        Jul 10 2015: Pulitzer Prize winning poet and long time University of Massachusetts professor James Tate died Wednesday aged 71.

        A distinguished professor of English at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he had taught since 1971, Mr. Tate was awarded the Pulitzer Prize...

          Full Story

          Lawrence Hill appointed to the Order of Canada

          Jul 07 2015: Author Lawrence Hill has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his writing representing black history in Canada and for his charitable efforts to help girls and women in Africa through the Aminata Fund, named for The Book of Negroes (published in the USA as Someone...

            Full Story

            Man Booker International and Foreign Fiction Prizes to merge

            Jul 07 2015: The Man Booker International Prize and the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize are to merge to create one annual award for a work of literary fiction translated into English.

            Jonathan Taylor, chair of the Man Booker Foundation, said at a press conference this morning ...

              Full Story

              Scribd dramatically cutting number of romance & erotica books in catalog as fans are "reading Scribd out of house and home"

              Jul 01 2015: EBook subscription service Scribd is slashing dramatically the number of romance and erotica ebooks in its catalog. According to Smashwords CEO Mark Coker "80-90 percent of Smashwords romance and erotica titles will be dropped by Scribd, including nearly all of our most...

                Full Story

                Apple loses federal appeal in e-book case. Will pay $450m

                Jul 01 2015: The Second U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals in Manhattan has upheld a 2013 decision finding Apple liable for conspiring with publishers to raise the price of e-books. The 2-1 ruling follows three years of litigation, millions of dollars in legal fees and the decision by ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.