Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 13 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Store sales at Barnes & Noble fall nearly 7% year on year.

Sep 08 2016: In the first quarter ended July 30, total sales at Barnes & Noble fell 6.6%, to $913.9 million, and the net loss was $14.4 million, compared to a net loss of $7.8 million in the same period a year earlier. Wall Street analysts had expected total sales of about $958 ...

Full Story

New Beatrix Potter tale published today

Sep 06 2016: A new Beatrix Potter tale was published today, two years after the manuscript was unearthed following a clue discovered by Jo Hanks, publisher at Penguin Random House Children's Books, in an out-of-print 1970s literary history of the author.

Hanks found a reference to...

Full Story

Elechi Amadi dies aged 82

Aug 25 2016: Elechi Amadi, "one of the founding generation of African novelists in English," died June 29 aged 82. The Guardian reports that his work "was greatly admired by his fellow writers in Nigeria, and he had a large readership throughout Africa, but undeservedly he did not ...

Full Story

Kickstarter hits $100m mark on publishing projects

Aug 22 2016: Kickstarter, the crowdfunding venture that allows individuals to donate money to support a variety of projects, marked a milestone last week, recording more than $100 million in pledges to general-publishing projects since it launched in 2009.

Full Story

Publishers express frustration at sacking of B&N's CEO

Aug 22 2016: Publishers have been expressing their frustration in the wake of the sudden and unexpected dismissal of Barnes & Noble CEO Ron Boire last week, just a year after he took over as head of the largest bricks-and-mortar bookstore chain in the USA. Boire, formerly head of ...

Full Story

New editor for Sunday Book Review

Aug 18 2016: Pamela Paul, editor of the New York Times Sunday Book Review, has been given an expanded role at the paper. She will now oversee all book coverage for the Times, including the daily Books section, book news, and publishing industry news.

Full Story

Three new Harry Potter books publishing as ebooks on September 6.

Aug 18 2016: In addition to the "Harry Potter and the Cursed Child" London play, also available as a published script, and the upcoming "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" movie, Harry Potter fans now have three new publications to look forward to in 2016 - all publishing ...

Full Story

Author Thomas Steinbeck dies aged 72

Aug 16 2016: Thomas Steinbeck, the eldest son of the novelist John Steinbeck and, later in life, a fiction writer who fought bitterly in a family dispute over his father’s estate, died on Thursday at his home in Santa Barbara, Calif. He was 72.

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
June by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

A novel of suspense and passion about a terrible mistake that changed a family forever.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.