Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 11 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

National Humanities Medal award winners

Sep 04 2015: The White House today announced the distinguished recipients of the 2014 National Humanities Medal. The awardees include historians, writers, a philosopher, scholar, preservationist, food activist and an education course. President Barack Obama will confer the medal in ...

    Full Story

    Don DeLillo awarded National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters

    Sep 03 2015: The 2015 National Book Foundation Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters has been awarded to Don DeLillo for "a diverse body of work that examines the mores of contemporary modern American culture and brilliantly embeds the rhythms of everyday speech ...

      Full Story

      Survey shows that millennials are more irked by spelling errors than older groups

      Sep 01 2015: A survey by Dictionary.com appears to show that, while older generations might consider themselves the last bastions of correct spelling and grammar, almost three quarters of 18-34 year olds are irked by grammar and spelling slips on social media - higher than any other...

        Full Story

        Neurologist and author Oliver Sacks has died aged 82

        Aug 30 2015: British neurologist and author Oliver Sacks has died at the age of 82 in New York.

        Dr Sacks earned a medical degree at Queen's College, Oxford University, and later began working as a consulting neurologist for Beth Abraham Hospital, in the Bronx, New York, in 1966....

          Full Story

          Drama at this year's Hugo Awards as factions that played dirty to swing the vote to white male authors get voted down.

          Aug 24 2015: Wired reports on this year's Hugo Awards, the highest honors in science fiction and fantasy writing, which were announced at the 73rd World Science Fiction Convention in Spokane, Washington.

          The awards took on an unusual level of drama this year:
          "... But in ...

            Full Story

            Jeff Bezos rebuts NY Times article with an open letter to employees #amazon

            Aug 17 2015: In response to Sunday's New York Times article that describes Amazon as a cruel and back-stabbing environment, Jeff Bezos sent a company wide memo to employees which has been posted on GeekWire:

            "...The NYT article prominently features anecdotes describing ...

              Full Story

              NY Times article reveals dog eat dog culture among Amazon white collar workers

              Aug 15 2015: In an extensive article The New York Times looks at how Amazon is conducting an experiment in how far it can push white-collar workers to get them to achieve its ever-expanding ambitions. Written by Jodi Kantor and David Streitfeld the piece paints a picture of a harsh ...

                Full Story

                Alan Cheuse, novelist, teacher and longtime literary commentator for NPR has died aged 75

                Aug 03 2015: Alan Cheuse, the novelist, teacher and longtime literary commentator for NPR, died on Friday from injuries sustained in a car accident in California two weeks ago. He was 75.

                "On behalf of the family, we are in deep grief at the loss of our beloved father, husband ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.