Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 10 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

The Big Titles U.S. Agencies Will be Selling at the Frankfurt Book Fair

Oct 01 2017: Publishers Weekly looks at the big titles that American agents will be talking up in the rights center at the upcoming Frankfurt Book Fair including the debut novel from Sopranos' actor Michael Imperioli, a memoir by filmaker David Lynch, an update on Cinderella, and a ...

Full Story

Why UK and US book jackets are often so different?

Oct 01 2017: The Guardian looks at the question that puzzles many readers: Why are books published with different covers in different countries, even those that share the same language such as the UK and USA?

According to jacket designer, Stuart Bache: "The gulf between British ...

Full Story

Librarian rejects Melania Trump's book donation

Sep 29 2017: A school librarian has declared that she would not like a selection of Dr Seuss classics here, there or anywhere, after refusing books donated by Melania Trump.

Trump had sent a collection of ten Seuss books, including The Cat in the Hat and Green Eggs and Ham, to ...

Full Story

Kit Reed (1932-2017)

Sep 27 2017: Kit Reed, "a prolific author with an astonishing range who published work consistently for almost 60 years, writing outstanding novels and stories in various genres for children, teens and adults," died September 24 aged 85.

Full Story

National Book Foundation announces 5 under 35 honorees

Sep 25 2017: The National Book Foundation has announced its 2017 5 Under 35 honorees, a selection of debut fiction writers under the age of 35 whose work promises to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape. Each author was selected by a National Book Award Winner, ...

Full Story

The split infinitive

Sep 25 2017: Splitting an infinitive and starting a sentence with “so” or “like” are all habits that any self-respecting grammar pedant would abhor.

But a new study has found that conventions which prohibit such practises are so widely flouted, they have effectively become part ...

Full Story

"The Hobbit's" first review

Sep 24 2017: On the 80th anniversary of the publication of The Hobbit, Lithub looks back on C. S Lewis' review of his old friend J. R. R. Tolkien's first novel:

"...For it must be understood that this is a children’s book only in the sense that the first of many readings can be ...

Full Story

"The Snowy Day" stamps

Sep 24 2017: On Oct. 4, the United States Postal Service will issue four stamps, part of the “Forever” series, featuring Peter, the little boy from Ezra Jack Keats’s “The Snowy Day.” The book was published in 1962. The next year, Martin Luther King delivered his “I Have a Dream” ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.