Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 7 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Harper Lee Dies at 89

Feb 19 2016: Harper Lee, whose first novel, “To Kill a Mockingbird,” about racial injustice in a small Alabama town, sold more than 10 million copies and became one of the most beloved and most taught works of fiction ever written by an American, died on Friday in Monroeville, Ala.,...

    Full Story

    'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child' play will be published as a "special rehearsal edition" book

    Feb 10 2016: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a play, written by Jack Thorne based on an original story by J.K. Rowling, Thorne, and John Tiffany, catches up with Harry Potter 19 years after the Harry Potter series. Potter is now a husband, father of three, and an overworked ...

      Full Story

      Five missing Hong Kong booksellers confirmed as being detained by Chinese government

      Feb 09 2016: The five employees of a Hong Kong publishing company who have disappeared over the last few months have been confirmed as being detained by the Chinese government in mainland China. Their abductions were possibly prompted by the upcoming release of Xi Jinping and His ...

        Full Story

        Amazon may open about a dozen new stores

        Feb 03 2016: An offhand comment yesterday by the CEO of a real estate investment trust that owns and manages 120 shopping malls around the country, threw the book business into a frenzy and caused B&N's share price to drop. In a conference call with investors Sandeep Mathrani, CEO ...

          Full Story

          New Beatrix Potter book discovered

          Jan 26 2016: A new story written by Beatrix Potter more than 100 years ago, is to be published for the first time.

          The Tale of Kitty-in-Boots was rediscovered by publisher Jo Hanks after she found a reference to it in an out-of-print Potter biography. Three manuscripts were ...

            Full Story

            2015 Costa Awards announced

            Jan 26 2016: The 2015 Costa award winners were announced today. The winners are:

            Costa Book of The Year: The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge
            Costa First Novel Award: The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley
            Costa Novel Award: A God In Ruins by Kate Atkinson
            Biography Award: Invention ...

              Full Story

              Report shows impact of Amazon on local USA communities

              Jan 26 2016: One of the most well-attended and discussed sessions at yesterday's publishing industry Winter Institute featured the release of a new Civic Economics-ABA study called The Fiscal and Land Use Impacts of Online Retail, which aims to demonstrate the effects of the growth ...

                Full Story

                Five Employees of Hong Kong Publishing Companies Missing

                Jan 13 2016: A Hong Kong publishing house has allegedly suspended its plans to print a book critical of Chinese president Xi Jinping, fearing retribution from mainland authorities after 5 employees of a different publishing house, Mighty Current, who have disappeared - four in ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.