Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 5 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Thousands of poor residents banned from Silicon Valley library

Mar 31 2016: The New York Times reports on the sad state of the public library in San Jose, California where nearly a third of residents in poor neighborhoods are banned from entry to the library due to unpaid fines including what Director of Libraries Jill Bourne describes as "an ...

    Full Story

    James Patterson to donate a further $1.75m to school libraries

    Mar 30 2016: James Patterson will donate another $1.75 million to school libraries in 2016. The program was launched in 2015 in partnership with Scholastic Reading Club, which administers the grants. Of the nearly 28,000 entries received in 2015, 467 schools were awarded grants ...

      Full Story

      Adult coloring book sales increase 12-fold to 12 million in 2015

      Mar 23 2016: Sales in the adult coloring book category continue to rise. According to Nielsen Bookscan, about 12 million books were sold in 2015 compared with 1 million in 2014, with over 2000 individual titles available compared to about 300 in 2014.

        Full Story

        Bookstores sales up for the fifth month in a row

        Mar 16 2016: January bookstore sales in the USA rose 3.8%, to $1.48 billion, compared to January 2015, according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This marked the fifth month in a row that bookstore have risen, following a jump of 9.6% in December, rises of nearly 7% ...

          Full Story

          Pat Conroy dies aged 70

          Mar 05 2016: Pat Conroy died yesterday aged 70 after a short battle with pancreatic cancer. His tortured family life and the scenic marshlands of coastal South Carolina served as unending sources of inspiration for his fiction, notably the novels The Great Santini, The Lords of ...

            Full Story

            Ingram to buy Perseus's distribution business

            Mar 04 2016: A few days ago Perseus Book Group announced that Hachette would be buying their publishing arm, but it was unclear what would happen to their large distribution operation until yesterday when it was announced that this was to be bought by Ingram Content Group.

            Perseus...

              Full Story

              Hachette signs binding agreement to buy Perseus Book Group

              Mar 02 2016: Having failed in its bid to buy the Perseus Book Group in 2014, Hachette Book Group announced Tuesday afternoon that it has entered into a binding agreement to acquire the company’s publishing division. Perseus announced last September that it was looking for potential ...

                Full Story

                Detained Hong Kong booksellers charged with "illegal book trading"

                Mar 01 2016: Four Hong Kong booksellers who went missing last year appeared on Chinese television and confessed to illegally selling banned books in mainland China, Reuters reports.

                The Financial Times notes that confessions on television are "an increasingly common propaganda ...

                  Full Story

                  One Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Book That Matters Most
                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers appreciated the innovative structure of The Book That Matters ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.