Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 4 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

7000 attendees enjoyed successful BookCon in Chicago

May 16 2016: 7000 book fans attended Book Con in Chicago on Saturday. As in the two previous years in New York City, attendees skewed towards significantly more females than males. Some attendees were disappointed that the event was on just one day, unlike last year's BookCon in New...

    Full Story

    In Britain, lit fiction books in translation outsell English language lit fiction

    May 16 2016: Translated literary fiction is selling better on average in the UK than literary fiction originally written in English, according to new research by Nielsen, with authors including Elena Ferrante, Haruki Murakami and Karl Ove Knausgaard driving a boom in sales.

    ...

      Full Story

      Praise for BookExpo America in Chicago, despite slow Wednesday and Friday

      May 16 2016: After a slow start on Wednesday afternoon, BookExpo America kicked into gear on Thursday and concluded on Friday with much praise from many attendees. The somewhat smaller attendance--probably around 18,000--allowed for a more pleasant trade floor experience for many ...

        Full Story

        US bookstore sales jump 11% in March, marking 7th month of continuous growth

        May 16 2016: March bookstore sales in the USA jumped 10.7% according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This marked the seventh month in a row that bookstore sales have risen. For the year to date, bookstore sales have risen 6.2%, to $2.9 billion.

          Full Story

          Leonnard Riggio to step down as executive chairman of B&N in September

          Apr 27 2016: After decades as one of the biggest names in the bookselling industry, Leonard Riggio, the 75-year-old executive chairman of Barnes & Noble, has decided to step down as executive chairman after the company's annual meeting in September. He will still sit on the board of...

            Full Story

            Three authors on Time magazine's most influential people list

            Apr 21 2016: Time magazine's latest list of the world's 100 most influential people includes authors Ta-Nehisi Coates, Elena Ferrante and Marilynne Robinson.

              Full Story

              2016 Pulitzer Prize Winners

              Apr 18 2016: The 2016 Pulitzer Prizes were announced today. Winners in this centennial year include:

              Fiction: Viet Thanh Nguyen for The Sympathizer

              History: T.J. Stiles for Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America

              Biography or Autobiography: William Finnegan...

                Full Story

                New Kindle with rechargeable protective case coming soon

                Apr 06 2016: Amazon will soon sell a higher-end Kindle with a rechargeable protective case for extended battery life. The removable cover will allow the Kindle to be thinner than earlier devices.

                Also under development is a separate Kindle case with a battery that can be charged ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.