Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 31 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Amazon's supplier battles expand to Warner Home Video

Jun 11 2014: The Everything Store is shrinking again. Amazon customers who want to order forthcoming Warner Home Video features, including "The Lego Movie," "300: Rise of an Empire," "Winter’s Tale" and "Transcendence," are finding it impossible to do so.

The retailer's refusal ...

    Full Story

    B&N steps back into the tablet market with agreement to co-brand tablets with Samsung (that will include Nook software)

    Jun 05 2014: Barnes & Noble has reached an agreement with Samsung for the technology giant to develop co-branded tablets that will include Nook software.

      Full Story

      Amy Einhorn joining new Macmillan's Flatiron Books

      Jun 04 2014: Amy Einhorn, who recently left her eponymous imprint at Penguin Random House, is joining Macmillan’s Flatiron Books imprint as senior v-p and publisher. She will start at Flatiron on July 21. No date has been set for the release of Einhorn's first titles, but ...

        Full Story

        Wall Street Journal blames Justice Department for Amazon-Hachette dispute

        Jun 03 2014: Writing in the Wall Street Journal, former WSJ publisher L. Gordon Crovitz, calls the current dispute between Amazon and Hachette "the legacy of the Justice Department's doing Amazon's bidding and strange closeness with the Seattle e-tailer."

        Crovitz goes on to ...

          Full Story

          First BookCon show at BEA draws sell out crowd of 10,000 readers

          Jun 02 2014: BookExpo America ended with a bang: the first BookCon show drew 10,000 excited book fans who swarmed over the parts of the Javits Center on Saturday. "They're scary and inspiring at the same time," said one BEA attendee, echoing the mixed feelings of many industry ...

            Full Story

            Kirkus announces new book awards worth $150,000 per year

            Jun 01 2014: Kirkus Reviews has founded the Kirkus Prize to honor "outstanding writing by authors whose books have earned the Kirkus Star in the categories of fiction, nonfiction and young readers' literature." All books that receive a Kirkus starred review will be automatically ...

              Full Story

              Amazon breaks silence on Hachette-Amazon rift but no solution in sight for affected authors

              May 28 2014: Amazon has finally broken its silence over the dispute with Hachette, saying that while the two sides are working hard, Amazon is "not optimistic [the issue] will be resolved soon." For its part, Hachette said it is holding its position. In a statement, the publisher ...

                Full Story

                Maya Angelou Dies at 86

                May 28 2014: Esteemed poet and memoirist, Maya Angelou, is dead at 86. She was best known for her searing look at the Jim Crow South. Ms. Angelou was awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom by President Obama.

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.