Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 31 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

B&N to separate its college business from retail & Nook

Feb 26 2015: In a move that has surprised some in the industry, Barnes & Noble announced today that it plans to separate its college business from its retail stores and Nook digital units.

While a split has been on the cards for about a year, it was generally thought that the ...

Full Story

Maya Angelou to be honored with postage stamp

Feb 24 2015: Poet and bestselling author Maya Angelou will be honored with a Forever Stamp, the U.S. Postal Service announced Monday.

Angelou, best known for I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings, her searing memoir about life in the Jim Crow South, died May 28, 2014, at age 86.

Full Story

Today's students still prefer print

Feb 24 2015: Textbook makers, bookstore owners and college student surveys all say millennials still strongly prefer print when studying - but also for personal reading. A University of Washington pilot study of digital textbooks found that a quarter of students still bought print ...

Full Story

Oscar winners based on books

Feb 23 2015: Five of the eight best picture nominees at last night's Oscars were based on books or book related and a number were also winners, including:

Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), which centers on a Broadway stage adaptation of Raymond Carver's story "What...

Full Story

New Dr. Seuss book to publish late July

Feb 18 2015: Random House have announced that a new Dr. Seuss book will be published on July 28 - after the full text and illustrations of What Pet Should I Get? was found in the office of Ted Geisel (aka Dr. Seuss). It is believed to have been written in the late '50s/early '60s ...

Full Story

Faber & Faber and Farrar, Straus and Giroux terminate 17 year partnership in USA

Feb 17 2015: Publishers Lunch report that Faber and Faber and FSG announced jointly on Tuesday that they will terminate their 17-year partnership in the American-based Faber and Faber, Inc. effective immediately. Farrar will retain the rights to all of the titles published through ...

Full Story

Former US poet laureate Philip Levine dies aged 87

Feb 17 2015: Poet Philip Levine has died aged 87. The Former U.S. poet laureate won a Pulitzer Prize in 1995 for The Simple Truth. He also won two National Book Awards and two National Book Critics Circle Awards for other works.

Full Story

American Booksellers discuss concerns over minimum wage increases - philosophically in favor but logistically challenging

Feb 12 2015: At the American Booksellers Association this week members discussed a range of topics including the rise in the minimum wage in may parts of the US. Steve Bercu, owner of Bookpeople in Austin, Tex., and the president of the ABA, pointed out that the majority of ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...
  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.