Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 31 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

7000 attendees enjoyed successful BookCon in Chicago

May 16 2016: 7000 book fans attended Book Con in Chicago on Saturday. As in the two previous years in New York City, attendees skewed towards significantly more females than males. Some attendees were disappointed that the event was on just one day, unlike last year's BookCon in New...

Full Story

In Britain, lit fiction books in translation outsell English language lit fiction

May 16 2016: Translated literary fiction is selling better on average in the UK than literary fiction originally written in English, according to new research by Nielsen, with authors including Elena Ferrante, Haruki Murakami and Karl Ove Knausgaard driving a boom in sales.

...

Full Story

Praise for BookExpo America in Chicago, despite slow Wednesday and Friday

May 16 2016: After a slow start on Wednesday afternoon, BookExpo America kicked into gear on Thursday and concluded on Friday with much praise from many attendees. The somewhat smaller attendance--probably around 18,000--allowed for a more pleasant trade floor experience for many ...

Full Story

US bookstore sales jump 11% in March, marking 7th month of continuous growth

May 16 2016: March bookstore sales in the USA jumped 10.7% according to preliminary estimates from the Census Bureau. This marked the seventh month in a row that bookstore sales have risen. For the year to date, bookstore sales have risen 6.2%, to $2.9 billion.

Full Story

Leonnard Riggio to step down as executive chairman of B&N in September

Apr 27 2016: After decades as one of the biggest names in the bookselling industry, Leonard Riggio, the 75-year-old executive chairman of Barnes & Noble, has decided to step down as executive chairman after the company's annual meeting in September. He will still sit on the board of...

Full Story

Three authors on Time magazine's most influential people list

Apr 21 2016: Time magazine's latest list of the world's 100 most influential people includes authors Ta-Nehisi Coates, Elena Ferrante and Marilynne Robinson.

Full Story

2016 Pulitzer Prize Winners

Apr 18 2016: The 2016 Pulitzer Prizes were announced today. Winners in this centennial year include:

Fiction: Viet Thanh Nguyen for The Sympathizer

History: T.J. Stiles for Custer’s Trials: A Life on the Frontier of a New America

Biography or Autobiography: William Finnegan...

Full Story

New Kindle with rechargeable protective case coming soon

Apr 06 2016: Amazon will soon sell a higher-end Kindle with a rechargeable protective case for extended battery life. The removable cover will allow the Kindle to be thinner than earlier devices.

Also under development is a separate Kindle case with a battery that can be charged ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.