Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 29 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Amazon proposal to Hachette "like a mugger wanting praise for donating stolen goods to a charity."

Jul 09 2014: Summarized from Shelf Awareness....

It seems a bit like a mugger wanting praise for donating stolen goods to a charity.

In a new twist to the Amazon-Hachette dispute, David Naggar, Amazon's v-p of Kindle content and independent publishing has proposed that ...

    Full Story

    Louis Zamperini, the subject of Laura Hillenbrand's "Unbroken" has died aged 97

    Jul 03 2014: Louis Zamperini,,1936 Olympian and the subject of Laura Hillenbrand's bestselling nonfiction book Unbroken, died July 2 of pneumonia aged 97. Random House Publishing Group president and publisher Gina Centrello said in a statement: "We have lost a man who gave ...

      Full Story

      Open letter to readers asking for help with Amazon-Hachette dispute now has over 100 author signatures

      Jul 03 2014: An open letter, signed by a number of bestselling authors, is calling on Amazon "to resolve its dispute with Hachette without hurting authors and without blocking or otherwise delaying the sale of books to its customers." Drafted by Douglas Preston, the letter has now ...

        Full Story

        Walter Dean Myers dead at 76

        Jul 02 2014: Celebrated children's and YA author Walter Dean Myers known for writing books about young African Americans, such as "Monster" and "Fallen Angels," has died. He was 76.

          Full Story

          World Book Night USA to cease citing expense. UK WBN to continue

          Jul 02 2014: After three years World Book Night in America is to cease. In a statement, executive director Carl Lennertz cited lack of outside funding as the main reason for ending the book-giving project: "The expenses of running World Book Night U.S., even given the significant ...

            Full Story

            All The Birds Singing by Evie Wyld wins Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia's most prestigious book prize.

            Jun 27 2014: All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld has won the $60,000 Miles Franklin Literary Award, Australia's most prestigious book prize, honoring a novel "of the highest literary merit and which must present Australian life in any of its phases." The book was published in the U....

              Full Story

              FAA reconfirms ban on Amazon drones & other "model aircraft" from delivering commercial packages

              Jun 26 2014: After a federal judge ruled in March that the Federal Aviation Administration had acted illegally in banning the use of commercial drones to deliver packages because it had not first taken public input, the FAA has reconfirmed its ruling that Amazon cannot use drones to...

                Full Story

                B&N to break into 2 public companies: Retail stores and College bookstores + Nook

                Jun 25 2014: The Barnes & Noble board of directors has given its approval to separate B&N into two public companies with one holding the retail trade stores and the other holding its Nook operations plus the college bookstores. The hope is to complete the transactions by the first ...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: A Gentleman in Moscow
                    A Gentleman in Moscow
                    by Amor Towles
                    It is June 21, 1922, and 33-year-old Count Alexander Ilyich Rostov is convicted of being a class ...
                  • Book Jacket: I Contain Multitudes
                    I Contain Multitudes
                    by Ed Yong
                    If a stranger were to accost you on the street and tell you that, from birth, you have never been ...
                  • Book Jacket: Night of the Animals
                    Night of the Animals
                    by Bill Broun
                    Debut novelist Bill Broun is a gentle, exquisite literary surgeon. His protagonist, 90-year-old ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.