Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 29 of 249

View abbreviated list of news stories

British author Sally Beauman, author of "Destiny" and other novels, dies

Jul 16 2016: British author Sally Beauman died on July 7 aged 71. Writing in The Guardian, Lisa Appignanesi described Beauman as "a proud, loyal, fiercely private, beautiful and generous woman--at all ages. Her intelligence was incisive and broad. She could tell you everything, not ...

Full Story

Dr Carla D. Hayden confirmed as 14th Librarian of Congress

Jul 14 2016: Dr Carla D. Hayden has been confirmed, 74-18, by the U.S. Senate as the 14th Librarian of Congress, for a renewable 10-year term. Hayden was the longtime CEO of the Enoch Pratt Free Library system in Baltimore and a former president of the American Library Association. ...

Full Story

Book sales at brick and mortar bookstores rise 2% year on year

Jul 12 2016: Publishers' trade book sales (i.e. books for general readers) at physical retail stores in the USA rose for the second year in a row in 2015, climbing 1.8%, to $4.15 billion, according to the Association of American Publishers' StatShot Annual. Physical store sales ...

Full Story

Jojo Moyes takes 3 of top 20 bestseller spots for first half of the year

Jul 11 2016: Nielsen BookScan’s list of bestselling print books for the January–June period includes three editions of Jo-Jo Moyes' Me Before You. The book also came in at #2 on Amazon's Kindle bestseller list for approximately the same time period, beaten by The Girl in the Ice by ...

Full Story

Elie Wiesel dies aged 87

Jul 02 2016: Elie Wiesel, Auschwitz survivor and author of more than 40 books has died aged 87 in New York, where he lived and had been a citizen since the 1960s.

Born in Romania in 1928, he was deported to Auschwitz in 1944. After the war he became famous for writing about his ...

Full Story

Michael Herr, author of "Dispatches," dies aged 76

Jun 27 2016: Michael Herr, who wrote Dispatches, a glaringly intense, personal account of being a correspondent in Vietnam that is widely viewed as one of the most visceral and persuasive depictions of the unearthly experience of war, died last Thursday. He was 76.

The war in ...

Full Story

Austin Clark, author of The Polished Hoe, dies aged 81

Jun 27 2016: Austin Clarke, the award-winning Barbadian-born author who wrote about the immigrant experience and being black in Canada, died Sunday at age 81.

The author of at least eleven novels, six short-story collections, and four memoirs, Clarke is perhaps best remembered ...

Full Story

Apple e-book refunds begin today

Jun 21 2016: Attorneys today confirmed that $400 million in refunds due readers following the end of the Apple e-book price-fixing case will begin flowing into customer accounts on June 21—with refunds for New York Times bestsellers approaching $7 per title purchased.

In all, the...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Only Child
    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin
    Rhiannon Navin's debut novel, Only Child received an overall score of 4.8 out of 5 from BookBrowse ...
  • Book Jacket: Brass
    Brass
    by Xhenet Aliu
    In 1996, Waterbury, Connecticut is a town of abandoned brass mills. Eighteen-year-old Elsie ...
  • Book Jacket: Timekeepers
    Timekeepers
    by Simon Garfield
    If you can spare three minutes and 57 seconds, you can hear the driving, horse-gallop beat of Sade&#...
  • Book Jacket: How to Stop Time
    How to Stop Time
    by Matt Haig
    Tom Hazard, the protagonist of How to Stop Time, is afflicted with a condition of semi-immortality ...

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Women in the Castle by Jessica Shattuck

A nuanced portrait of war, and of three women haunted by the past and the secrets they hold.

About the book
Join the discussion!

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    Only Child
    by Rhiannon Navin

    A dazzling, tenderhearted debut about healing, family, and the exquisite wisdom of children.
    Reader Reviews

  • Book Jacket

    The French Girl
    by Lexie Elliott

    An exhilarating debut psychological suspense novel for fans of Fiona Barton and Ruth Ware.
    Reader Reviews

Win this book!
Win Beartown

Now in Paperback!

From the author of a A Man Called Ove, a dazzling, profound novel about a small town with a big dream.

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T I M A Slip B C A L

and be entered to win..

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.