Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 26 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

Paul Bacon, influential designer of more than 6500 book jackets dies aged 91

Jun 11 2015: You may not know his name but the chances are you've read many of his books. Paul Bacon, the influential designer of about 6500 book jacket covers including major literary works like Joseph Heller’s Catch-22 and Philip Roth’s Portnoy’s Complaint, died on Monday in ...

Full Story

European Commission opens antitrust investigation into Amazon

Jun 11 2015: The European Commission has opened a formal antitrust investigation into certain business practices by Amazon in the distribution of ebooks. The Commission will in particular investigate certain clauses included in Amazon's contracts with publishers. These clauses ...

Full Story

Juan Felipe Herrera - the first Hispanic American U.S. poet laureate will be sworn in today

Jun 11 2015: Juan Felipe Herrera will become the first Hispanic American U.S. poet laureate when he is sworn in today.

He learned to love poetry by singing songs about the Mexican Revolution with his mother, a migrant farmworker in California.

Herrera, aged 66, has published ...

Full Story

Four productions based on books win Tony Awards

Jun 08 2015: Four plays based on books won awards at yesterday's Tony Awards:

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Simon Stephens (book by Mark Haddon) won 5 Awards including Best Play.

Fun Home (music by Jeanine Tesori, lyrics by Lisa Kron), was nominated 12 ...

Full Story

Jacqueline Woodson named Young People's Poet Laureate

Jun 04 2015: Jacqueline Woodson has been named the Young People's Poet Laureate by the Poetry Foundation. Awarded every two years, the $25,000 laureate title is given to a living writer in recognition of a career devoted to writing exceptional poetry for young readers. The laureate ...

Full Story

Mathematician John F. Nash Jr, and his wife Alicia die in car crash

May 24 2015: Nobel Prize-winning mathematician John F. Nash Jr., known to many due to Sylvia Nasar's bestselling book, A Beautiful Mind, and the subsequent film of the same name, was killed on Saturday with his wife, Alicia, in a car crash. He was 86, she was 82. They were taking a ...

Full Story

Man Booker International prize 2015 goes to László Krasznahorkai

May 19 2015: The Hungarian author László Krasznahorkai (pronounced Laas-lo Krasna-hor-kai) has won the Man Booker International prize for his “achievement in fiction on the world stage”. Chair of judges Marina Warner, the academic and writer, compared Krasznahorkai’s work to Kafka –...

Full Story

Portrait believed to be of Shakespeare found in old botany book

May 19 2015: Botanist and historian Mark Griffiths believes he has cracked an "ingenious cipher" to identify Shakespeare in an engraving in a 16th-Century botany book. Griffiths made his discovery when he was researching the biography of pioneering botanist John Gerard (1545-1612), ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    Smoke
    by Dan Vyleta
    In Dan Vyleta's universe, set in an alternate Victorian England, people engaging in sinful thought ...
  • Book Jacket: Golden Hill
    Golden Hill
    by Francis Spufford
    Spufford brings American history to raucous life through the story of Mr. Richard Smith, a ...
  • Book Jacket: Midnight at the Electric
    Midnight at the Electric
    by Jodi Lynn Anderson
    The world changes, but humanity stays the same. Whether a book takes place in the year 1510 or 2010,...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.