Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 25 of 235

View abbreviated list of news stories

BookBrowse Publishes White Paper: Book Clubs in The USA

Jul 28 2015: Based on recent research, in-depth interviews and extensive experience, BookBrowse's just published white paper provides an intriguing and insightful look at Book Clubs.

Download it for free at bookbrowse.com/wp

Find out:

• The two life stages when book...

Full Story

Author and NPR reporter Alan Cheuse in coma after serious car accident

Jul 22 2015: As reported by Shelf Awareness, author and NPR book reviewer Alan Cheuse remains in a coma after having been seriously injured in a car accident as he was driving from the annual conference of the Community of Writers at Squaw Valley to Santa Cruz, Calif., last week. He...

Full Story

Go Set a Watchman sells 1.1 million copies in North America in first week

Jul 21 2015: Harper Lee's Go Set a Watchman has sold 1.1 million digital and physical copies in North America in its first week. HarperCollins says that Watchman is now the fastest-selling book in its history and has already reprinted multiple times so there are now 3.3 million ...

Full Story

US novelist E.L. Doctorow dies at 84

Jul 21 2015: E.L. Doctorow, critically acclaimed author of the novels Ragtime and Billy Bathgate, has died in a New York hospital of complications from lung cancer. He was 84. In a 50-year career, Doctorow published 10 novels, a stage drama, two books of short fiction and ...

Full Story

U.S. Dept of Justice called on to investigate Amazon's business practices

Jul 13 2015: In an unprecedented joint action, U.S. booksellers, authors, and literary agents called on the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to investigate the business practices of Amazon.com. The action comes as similar efforts are underway in the European Union.

In a letter ...

Full Story

First chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" now available in 3 newspapers

Jul 10 2015: The first chapter of Harper Lee's "Go Set a Watchman" is now available to read in the Wall Street Journal (US), Guardian (UK) and Sydney Morning Herald (Aus). All three also have a recording of Reese Witherspoon reading the first chapter.

The Wall Street Journal and...

Full Story

Poet Tate dies aged 71

Jul 10 2015: Pulitzer Prize winning poet and long time University of Massachusetts professor James Tate died Wednesday aged 71.

A distinguished professor of English at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, where he had taught since 1971, Mr. Tate was awarded the Pulitzer Prize...

Full Story

Lawrence Hill appointed to the Order of Canada

Jul 07 2015: Author Lawrence Hill has been appointed to the Order of Canada for his writing representing black history in Canada and for his charitable efforts to help girls and women in Africa through the Aminata Fund, named for The Book of Negroes (published in the USA as Someone...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Force
    The Force
    by Don Winslow
    Intense! That's the word. Winslow's The Force rips through its four hundred pages with the...
  • Book Jacket: Shadow Man
    Shadow Man
    by Alan Drew
    Alan Drew's debut novel, Gardens of Water, was an ambitious work of literary fiction set amid ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Noise of Time
    by Julian Barnes
    Confession: I do two terrible – some say unforgivable – things while reading a book. First...

Win this book!
Win The Library of Light and Shadow

The Library of Light and Shadow by M.J. Rose

"Possibly her best yet. A sensuous, sumptuous, and spellbinding novel." - Kirkus Reviews

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T H Are B T O

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The Nest by Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney

A funny and acutely perceptive debut about four siblings and the fate of their shared inheritance.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.