Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 25 of 224

View abbreviated list of news stories

National Book Award Fiction Shortlist Announced

Oct 15 2014: The National Book Awards have announced their fiction shortlist

    Full Story

    National Book Foundation Announces YA Shortlist

    Oct 15 2014: The National Book Award shortlist for this year's Young People's Literature category is:

    Threatened by Eliot Schrefer (Scholastic)
    The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
    ...

      Full Story

      Australian Author Wins Man Booker Prize

      Oct 14 2014: Australian author Richard Flanagan has won the £50,000 Man Booker Prize for his wartime novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. Flanagan's novel is set during the construction of the Thailand-Burma Death Railway in World War Two. This was the first year that the Man ...

        Full Story

        Amazon to open store near Empire State Building in New York, also in San Francisco and Sacramento

        Oct 13 2014: Amazon will soon open small warehouse/stores in Manhattan, San Francisco and Sacramento.

        According to the Wall Street Journal, which reported on the New York store, apparently, the stores will function as "mini warehouse, with limited inventory for same-day delivery...

          Full Story

          Patrick Modiano Wins Nobel Prize in Literature

          Oct 09 2014: Patrick Modiano, the French novelist whose works often explore the traumas of the Nazi occupation of France and hinge on the themes of memory, alienation and the puzzle of identity, won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Literature on Thursday.

            Full Story

            HarperCollins expands into Germany, its first foray into foreign-language publishing

            Oct 08 2014: In its first foray into foreign-language publishing, HarperCollins is creating HarperCollins Germany with a first list of 50 titles. The new operation is an expansion of the Harlequin publishing program in Hamburg, which will provide the resources to support the ...

              Full Story

              More than 450,000 self published books released in 2013 - and that's just in the USA

              Oct 08 2014: Bowker's latest report on the number of self-published titles rose again in 2013, increasing 16.5%, to 458,564. The increase was due to an increase in new print books which rose 28.8% to 302,622 offsetting a decline in self-published e-books which fell 1.6%, to 155,942....

                Full Story

                5 Under 35 honorees are Yelena Akhtiorskaya, Alex Gilvarry, Phil Klay, Valeria Luiselli and Kirstin Valdez Quade

                Oct 01 2014: The National Book Foundation has announced the 2014 "5 Under 35" honorees, recognizing five young fiction writers. The honorees are all chosen by previous National Book Award winners and finalists:

                Yelena Akhtiorskaya, Panic in a Suitcase (Riverhead, ...

                  Full Story

                  One-Month Free Membership

                  Join Today!

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: Here I Am
                    Here I Am
                    by Jonathan Safran Foer
                    With almost all the accoutrements of upper middle-class suburban life, Julia and Jacob Bloch fit the...
                  • Book Jacket: Harmony
                    Harmony
                    by Carolyn Parkhurst
                    In previous novels such as The Dogs of Babel and Lost and Found, Carolyn Parkhurst has shown herself...
                  • Book Jacket: Commonwealth
                    Commonwealth
                    by Ann Patchett
                    Opening Ann Patchett's novel Commonwealth about two semi-functional mid-late 20th Century ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    Darling Days
                    by iO Tillett Wright

                    A devastatingly powerful memoir of one young woman's extraordinary coming of age.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Tea Planter's Wife
                    by Dinah Jefferies

                    An utterly engrossing, compulsive page-turner set in 1920s Ceylon.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Blood at the Root

                  Blood at the Root

                  "A gripping, timely, and important examination of American racism."
                  - PW Starred Review

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  D C Y C Before T A H

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.