Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 23 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Sherlock Holmes in public domain - at last!

Nov 04 2014: The Supreme Court have declined to hear an appeal by the Doyle estate hoping to overturn a U.S. district court decision that ruled that copyrights had expired on all Sherlock novels and stories published before 1923, but not on the final 10 stories published after that....

    Full Story

    Mass market paperback sales down, but far from out

    Nov 03 2014: When sales of e-books in the USA doubled in 2011 compared with 2010, many in the publishing industry predicted the quick demise of mass market paperbacks*. The predictions looked to be on track when the format sold half as much in 2013 as in 2010. But in 2014 there are ...

      Full Story

      Mark your calendars for Small Business Saturday and Indies First Day - November 29, just after Thanksgiving.

      Oct 30 2014: Mark your calendars for Small Business Saturday and Indies First Day - November 29, just after Thanksgiving. Many authors will be volunteering at their favorite independent bookstores. Contact your local store for details or check out the map that has been started at ...

        Full Story

        Amazon sales rose 20% in 3rd qtr but lost $544m

        Oct 24 2014: Amazon's release of its third quarter financial results Thursday afternoon gave analysts and investors lots to think about as the giant e-tailer posted a large quarterly loss, forecast the possibility of a loss for the fourth quarter and had slowing growth in its media ...

          Full Story

          National Book Awards Shortlist for Nonfiction Announced

          Oct 15 2014: The National Book Awards have announced their nonfiction shortlist consisting of five titles:

          Roz Chast, Can't We Talk About Something More Pleasant? (Bloomsbury)
          Anand Gopal, No Good Men Among the Living: America, the Taliban, and the War through Afghan ...

            Full Story

            National Book Award Fiction Shortlist Announced

            Oct 15 2014: The National Book Awards have announced their fiction shortlist

              Full Story

              National Book Foundation Announces YA Shortlist

              Oct 15 2014: The National Book Award shortlist for this year's Young People's Literature category is:

              Threatened by Eliot Schrefer (Scholastic)
              The Port Chicago 50: Disaster, Mutiny, and the Fight for Civil Rights by Steve Sheinkin (Roaring Brook/Macmillan)
              ...

                Full Story

                Australian Author Wins Man Booker Prize

                Oct 14 2014: Australian author Richard Flanagan has won the £50,000 Man Booker Prize for his wartime novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North. Flanagan's novel is set during the construction of the Thailand-Burma Death Railway in World War Two. This was the first year that the Man ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    All the Ugly and Wonderful Things
                    by Bryn Greenwood

                    A memorable coming-of-age tale about loyalty, defiance, and the power of love.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.