Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 20 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Newbery & Caldecott Awards announced

Feb 02 2015: The American Library Association announced their Youth Media Awards today. The Newbery medal went to The Crossover, a novel in verse by Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), and the Caldecott was awarded to The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend, ...

    Full Story

    Thorn Birds author, Colleen McCullough, dies aged 77

    Jan 29 2015: Colleen McCullough, author of twenty-five books including The Thorn Birds has died in a hospital on Norfolk Island aged 77. Norfolk Island, population ~2000, is a self-governing territory of Australia located between Australia and New Zealand.

      Full Story

      2014 Costa Book of the Year Announced

      Jan 27 2015: Helen Macdonald's memoir H Is For Hawk has been named Costa Book of the Year.

      The book is the author's personal account of training a goshawk as a way of dealing with grief following her father's death.

        Full Story

        First National Readathon Day raises $50,000 from nearly 200 participating bookstores, libraries, schools etc.

        Jan 26 2015: The first National Readathon Day, held in the USA on Saturday, drew crowds to stores that had events highlighting the occasion. Book lovers were asked to pledge to read for four hours starting at noon in their respective time zones--nearly 200 bookstores, libraries, ...

          Full Story

          First National Readathon Day this Saturday - like a walk-a-thon except you read!

          Jan 20 2015: Saturday, 24th Jan is the first National Readathon Day. NRD is a nation-wide marathon reading session from Noon to 4pm (in respective time zones).

          You can share your love of books and support programs that promote reading by pledging to read and fund-raise for the ...

            Full Story

            6 of the 8 Oscar best picture nominations are based on books including Birdman, Grand Budapest, Imitation Game and Theory of Everything

            Jan 16 2015: Six of the eight best picture nominations for this year's Academy Awards, which will be presented February 22, are based on books or are book-related; and there are number of other nominations for movies based on books. The information below is summarized from Shelf ...

              Full Story

              Kate DiCamillo to be the first National Summer Reading Champion

              Jan 14 2015: Kate DiCamillo, the Library of Congress Ambassador for Young People's Literature, and author of more than a dozen books, is to be the first National Summer Reading Champion, working with the nonprofit Collaborative Summer Library Program.

              DiCamillo will appear in a ...

                Full Story

                Indie Bookstores Alive & Well! Average indie saw 9% increase in sales in December vs last year, and sales were up 6% year on year.

                Jan 12 2015: With just about all reports in, it's clear that 2014 ended strongly for bricks-and-mortar bookstores. For the first time in several years, book sales at Barnes & Noble and Books-A-Million during the holiday season stabilized. At independents, the news was significantly ...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    Underground Airlines
                    by Ben Winters

                    "The Invisible Man meets Blade Runner in this outstanding alternate history thriller." - PW Star

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.