Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 17 of 223

View abbreviated list of news stories

Ferguson Public Library Director wins $10,000 Adversity Prize

Mar 25 2015: Scott Bonner, director of the Ferguson Public Library in Missouri, has been selected to receive the second annual Lemony Snicket Prize for Noble Librarians Faced with Adversity worth $10,000.

Last summer, the shooting of unarmed teenager Mike Brown by police officer ...

    Full Story

    Finalists announced for Man Booker International Prize 2015

    Mar 24 2015: Ten writers are on the judges’ list of finalists under serious consideration for the sixth Man Booker International Prize, the £60,000 award which recognises one writer for his or her achievement in fiction.

    The authors come from ten countries with six new ...

      Full Story

      Overdrive, leading provider of e-books and audio books to libraries, bought by Japanese Rakuten, who already own Kobo e-readers

      Mar 20 2015: Japanese Internet services giant Rakuten is buying OverDrive, Inc. for $410 million in cash. Overdrive facilitates e-book and audiobook lending for more than 30,000 libraries in 40 countries. In 2012, Rakuten bought Kobo, the global retailer of e-reading devices and e-...

        Full Story

        Harper Lee 'not pressured into releasing second novel'

        Mar 13 2015: US investigators have closed an inquiry into whether Harper Lee was pressured into publishing a sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird.

        Lee herself was "extremely hurt" by allegations she was manipulated, her lawyer Tonja Carter said.

        To Kill a Mockingbird was published ...

          Full Story

          Does Harper Lee endorse publication of "Go Set a Watchman"? - State of Alabama investigates #harperlee

          Mar 12 2015: From the moment it was announced that a second novel by Harper Lee was to be published people have raised doubts as to whether this was something that the famously publicity-shy author, now aged 88 - wanted.

          Despite reassurances from her publisher, lawyer and ...

            Full Story

            Terry Pratchett, author of Discworld, dies aged 66

            Mar 12 2015: Terry Pratchett, author of the Discworld series, has died aged 66, having had Alzheimer's disease for eight years. "The world has lost one of its brightest, sharpest minds," said Larry Finlay of his publishing company, Transworld. Pratchett, who wrote more than 70...

              Full Story

              James Patterson giving away $1.25m to school libraries

              Mar 09 2015: After giving away $1 million to independent bookstores last year, author James Patterson is giving $1.25 million to school libraries this year. Donations will range from $1,000 to $10,000 per school. Anyone can nominate a school library, click below for application

                Full Story

                Elizabeth McCracken wins $20,000 Story Prize for Thunderstruck

                Mar 05 2015: Elizabeth McCracken has won The Story Prize for her collection Thunderstruck. The prize is worth $20,000

                The other finalists for The Story Prize for books published in 2014 were authors Francesca Marciano for The Other Language (Pantheon) and Lorrie Moore for Bark (...

                  Full Story

                  Member Benefits

                  Join Now!

                  Check the advantages!
                  Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

                    •  
                    • FREE
                    • MEMBER
                    • Range of media reviews for each book
                    • Excerpts of all featured books
                    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
                    • Browse by genre
                    • Book club discussions
                    • Book club advice and reading guides
                    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
                    •  
                    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
                    •  
                    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
                    •  
                    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
                    •  
                    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
                    •  
                    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
                    •  

                  Editor's Choice

                  • Book Jacket: The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach
                    BookBrowse First Impression reviewers were uniformly impressed by this difficult yet heartwarming ...
                  • Book Jacket: Boy Erased
                    Boy Erased
                    by Garrard Conley
                    Growing up in rural Arkansas, Garrard Conley did not quite fit the mold of his strait-laced, ...
                  • Book Jacket: The Bones of Grace
                    The Bones of Grace
                    by Tahmima Anam
                    The Bones of Grace completes Tahmima Anam's Bangladesh trilogy. The three novels, which can be ...

                  First Impressions

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Invisible Life of Ivan Isaenko
                    by Scott Stambach

                    "An auspicious, gut-wrenching, wonderful debut." - Kirkus, starred review

                    Read Member Reviews

                  • Book Jacket

                    The Book That Matters Most
                    by Ann Hood

                    An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets and friendship.

                    Read Member Reviews

                  Book Discussions
                  Book Jacket
                  This Must Be the Place
                  by Maggie O'Farrell

                  An irresistible love story for fans of Beautiful Ruins and Where'd You Go, Bernadette?

                  About the book
                  Join the discussion!
                  Win this book!
                  Win Lady Cop Makes Trouble

                  The Kopp Sisters Return!

                  One of the nation's first female deputy sheriffs returns in another gripping adventure based on fact.

                  Enter

                  Word Play

                  Solve this clue:

                  Manners M (T) M

                  and be entered to win..

                  Books that     
                  entertain,
                       engage

                   & enlighten

                  Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

                  Join Today!

                  Your guide toexceptional          books

                  BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.

                   
                  X

                  Free Weekly Newsletter

                  Keep up with what's happening in the world of books:
                  Reviews, previews, interviews and more!



                  Spam Free: Your email is never shared with anyone; opt out any time.