Breaking news on authors, publishers, and book-related topics

BookBrowse Book News

Page 17 of 234

View abbreviated list of news stories

Louise Rennison dies aged 63

Mar 01 2016: Louise Rennison has died aged 63. She was the author of 10 young adult novels featuring Georgia Nicholson and a series of books about Georgia's younger cousin: The Misadventures of Tallulah Casey.

In a statement, HarperCollins said: "Nobody wrote for teenagers like...

Full Story

SIBA Book Awards now the Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize

Mar 01 2016: The Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA) is paying tribute to one of the South’s most beloved writers by renaming the SIBA Book Awards. This has been in the works since the news of Conroy’s 70th birthday. SIBA Executive Director Wanda Jewell confirmed that ...

Full Story

Carla D. Hayden nominated as Librarian of Congress

Feb 25 2016: President Obama has nominated as the next Librarian of Congress Carla D. Hayden, who has been CEO of the Enoch Pratt Free Library in Baltimore, Md., since 1993. Before that, Dr. Hayden was deputy commissioner and chief librarian of the Chicago Public Library, assistant ...

Full Story

Emberto Eco dies at 84

Feb 20 2016: The Italian writer and philosopher Umberto Eco, best known for his novel The Name of the Rose, has died aged 84.

Full Story

Harper Lee Dies at 89

Feb 19 2016: Harper Lee, whose first novel, “To Kill a Mockingbird,” about racial injustice in a small Alabama town, sold more than 10 million copies and became one of the most beloved and most taught works of fiction ever written by an American, died on Friday in Monroeville, Ala.,...

Full Story

'Harry Potter and the Cursed Child' play will be published as a "special rehearsal edition" book

Feb 10 2016: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a play, written by Jack Thorne based on an original story by J.K. Rowling, Thorne, and John Tiffany, catches up with Harry Potter 19 years after the Harry Potter series. Potter is now a husband, father of three, and an overworked ...

Full Story

Five missing Hong Kong booksellers confirmed as being detained by Chinese government

Feb 09 2016: The five employees of a Hong Kong publishing company who have disappeared over the last few months have been confirmed as being detained by the Chinese government in mainland China. Their abductions were possibly prompted by the upcoming release of Xi Jinping and His ...

Full Story

Amazon may open about a dozen new stores

Feb 03 2016: An offhand comment yesterday by the CEO of a real estate investment trust that owns and manages 120 shopping malls around the country, threw the book business into a frenzy and caused B&N's share price to drop. In a conference call with investors Sandeep Mathrani, CEO ...

Full Story

Support BookBrowse

Become a Member and discover books that entertain, engage & enlighten!

Join Today!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: Do Not Become Alarmed
    Do Not Become Alarmed
    by Maile Meloy
    Full disclosure: I've never had any desire to go on a cruise. I start getting antsy and ...
  • Book Jacket: Priestdaddy
    Priestdaddy
    by Patricia Lockwood
    Patricia Lockwood is a poet and the daughter of Greg Lockwood, a Catholic priest. While Catholic ...
  • Book Jacket: Before We Sleep
    Before We Sleep
    by Jeffrey Lent
    Katey Snow, aged seventeen, leaves home one night. "There was a void within her and one that could ...

Win this book!
Win News of the World

News of the World

A brilliant work of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

Enter

First Impressions

  • Book Jacket

    The Necklace
    by Claire McMillan

    For readers of The Nest, the intelligent, intoxicating story of long-simmering family secrets.
    Reader Reviews

Word Play

Solve this clue:

T's S I Numbers

and be entered to win..

Book Discussion
Book Jacket
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood

A richly layered novel of hearts broken seemingly beyond repair and then bound by a stunning act of human devotion.

About the book
Join the discussion!

Books that     
entertain,
     engage

 & enlighten

Visitors can view some of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only.

Join Today!

Your guide toexceptional          books

BookBrowse seeks out and recommends books that we believe to be best in class. Books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, that will expand your mind and challenge you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.