Reader reviews and comments on The Summons, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Summons

By John Grisham

The Summons
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Feb 2002,
    384 pages.
    Paperback: Dec 2002,
    384 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 6
There are currently 48 reader reviews for The Summons
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Caitlin (06/24/11)

I would like a refund, please.
Not of the money I paid for the book, although that would be great too, but mostly of the completely wasted hours I spent reading it.

It took about two chapters to figure out who the "bad guy" was, if that, and the side trails followed were somehow both boring and utter fantasy. Totally unbelievable characters, including Harry Rex (who has somehow undergone a personality transplant since his last appearance) to the King of Torts (are we really supposed to believe that a LAWYER is going to sit around admitting to dozens of felonies during an overnight visit with a total stranger?). And we are also supposed to believe that a lifelong junkie, who has stooped to murdering his own father, forging a will, threatening and intimidating his brother, arson, and God knows what else) comes into three million dollars, and uses it to check himself into long term rehab? Oh, puh-leeze. Perhaps Grisham should write a couple of novels about Santa and the Easter Bunny.

As for the ending, it is one of the worst literary cop-outs I have ever come across. Nothing resolved, characters taking off on tangents that bear no resemblance whatsoever to their own personalities as set up by the entire novel, and "see you in a year."

This just proves that once an author has reached a certain point in sales, their publishers will print any doddle they type up without bothering to read it first. Complete garbage.
Kay (08/04/07)

The Summons
What I liked best about this Grisham book was that Ray was SO human; scared, can't shoot a gun, not sure what to do. So many of Grisham's heros are so smart, physically fit, etc. that they feel like fiction, but Ray was someone I can relate to. He was real. Also, haven't you ever wondered what you would do if you suddenly came across 3 million and had to hide it? Loved it!
Chris (03/28/07)

The Summons
I thought the book started out nicely. A bit slow as some other reviewers have pointed out, but it was not so slow as to be turn-off and probably had to be deliberate in order to describe just what kind of man the Judge was.

The book told a good story well, but it could have been about 150 pages longer and in those pages, he could have developed the characters more. I never felt like it was a true mystery as it was pretty obvious from the get-go who was trailing Ray. Lingering a bit on the other characters could have set them up as equals and given the ending more of a payoff.

The ending was also disappointing as it felt hurried and resolved nothing. There was never the sense that any of the characters grew or learned from what happened to them and truly left the reader hanging.

With all of that said, it was a fun read. Easy enough to pour through pretty quickly. I don't think I would buy it, but I would recommend it for a rainy Sunday.
Spencer (02/20/07)

An exciting legal thriller
I really enjoyed this book and would strongly recommend it. It had a great plot and a great ending. Once again, excellent job Mr. Grisham!
Kapena (02/16/07)

One good book
This is one good book, because it talks a lot about the judicial system, and it is easy to read.
Ashlee (02/22/05)

This book was great I'm 17 and just love each and every one of Grisham's book however this one is among my favorites. The build up to the end was exciting, and suspenseful. The book was very well written and I would recommend it to anyone who likes thrillers with a bit of mystery.
Aaron (02/01/05)

The book was good and filled with suspence, but it did have a slow start. When it started picking up I got really into the book. It is a "short and sweet" type of book. I did not think it was as good as some of his other books though, and I would rate it as one of his in between books. I have read 12 so far.
Anonymous (01/31/05)

Totally awesome after I read this book I really love John Grisham's books. I am 16 and now love his books.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  
Sign up, win books!

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket
    The Valley of Amazement
    by Amy Tan
    "Mirror, Mirror on the wall
    I am my mother after all!"


    In my pre-retirement days as a professor ...
  • Book Jacket: A Man Called Ove
    A Man Called Ove
    by Fredrik Backman
    Reading A Man Called Ove was like having Christmas arrive early. Set in Sweden, this debut novel is ...
  • Book Jacket
    The Search
    by Geoff Dyer
    All hail the independent publisher! In May 2014, Graywolf Press brought two of long-revered British ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Tomlinson Hill
by Chris Tomlinson

Published Jul. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Angel of Losses

The Angel of Losses

"Family saga, mystery, and myth intersect in Feldman's debut novel." - Booklist

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

E C H A Silver L

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.