Reader reviews and comments on Deception Point, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

Deception Point

By Dan Brown

Deception Point
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Nov 2001,
    384 pages.
    Paperback: Dec 2002,
    576 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 3
There are currently 17 reader reviews for Deception Point
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Om the man (09/29/10)

Certainly Science Fiction that would fit better in a 30/40-page comic
Oh boy! The book has interesting information about new technology, and the initial plot goes fine for a while... then, the big storm of exaggeration and the author's delusion that the story gets interesting and exciting... when it actually, well, it does get that sometimes, but then again, it fails to deliver: so much cliché, and so much grandeur all around the character's lives and situations from beginning to end. I would have enjoyed much more in a 30-40 pages comic. Being it a 600 or 700 pages makes it a waste of time once I finished it. That's my humble opinion, and I did read it all in good will, but ended up laughing and bewildered at such a story and manner of telling it. Anyways... it looks like many people like it (just as so many people like... uhmm... infomercials?)
By George (01/21/09)

You new career path?
With many people exiting traditional careers in this changing economy, writing might be a profession to consider. Apparently you get paid by the word, not necessarily telling a good story. As an example of how easy it seems to be a top writer, Dan Brown's Deception Point is 557 pages, 133 chapters, of how to take the long way to tell a short story. No kidding, he takes 450 pages to get around to the point of what happened in the very beginning of the book!The whole premise is too far fetched. The characters mindlessly put themselves back in danger after failed attempts to kill them. Then there's a host of predictability which is insufferably drawn out. Mr. Brown does seem to do his homework, but almost to the point of impressing himself and feign complexity. It is Dan Brown's forgettable equivalent to Grisham's The Bleachers. Only Grisham uses far less filler. I am stunned to see Deception Point rated so favorably. Apparently there quality starvation which should open the door for new talent. It's only an okay thriller that takes too long to tell a very simple story.
DannyD (10/14/08)

Deception of Browns Plot Point
If you are interested in a book that will keep you up late at night struggling to keep you eyelids elevated, Deception Point is your oasis. This book will take up all of your free time. The way Dan Brown writes is astonishing. The way that Brown distinguishes his characters is lifelike. In this Rachel Sexton, a white house intelligence analyst, is asked for assistance in an important operation in the Arctic to help NASA. The operation is extremely secret and no one in the world is allowed to know. If word got out about this incredible NASA feat all minds would change about the incriminating thoughts about NASA’s floundering status.

Along with Rachel man named Michael Tolland, who is an oceanographer, work to figure out how to address the public of this outlandish incident. While in the process of verifying the data the two of them including Corky Marlinson, a chubby astrophysicist, are attacked by a group of assassin controlled by a power broker who will stop at nothing to hide the truth. The arctic becomes a sanctuary for fact-less fiction or fiction-less fact that Brown hides professionally. Senator Sexton, a man considered to posses a large hatred for NASA, is in a presidential race and feels that NASA’s unaccomplished presence will be a good source to demolish his opponents thoughts. The president running for his second term has a trick up his sleeve. He knows that this accomplishment for NASA will boost him in the race to keep his position as president. But what he does not know is that NASA’s find in the arctic could have some fiction related to it. This is where Dan Browns mind comes into play.

Brown is effectively able to produce confusion throughout the story to keep your mind wandering. Without a definite answer you are left with a blank. That blank stays put with most of the story that creates desire for an answer. The only way to fill the blank is to read this thrilling novel.
amazinglyhandsome (01/11/06)

deception point
what a book,couldnt put it down but i had to as i was reading it at work,not alot got done.the way the author made everything sound and look got my imagination running with different scenarios and alot of what ifs.bit of a twist at the end and impressed with how theres a grizzely murder at the begining of all his books.a great read reccomend to everyone.
G-Unit (01/11/06)

Deception Point
I'm 11 years old and i've read this bok 3 times. it is the best book eva!!!!!!!!! I would recommend to anyone, doens't matter which age!
Chris (09/11/05)

Fascinating and hugley intriguing book
Hey I'm 14years old and the only person in my age range I know who has read this book. Dan Brown is an amazing and inspiring author and I love all his books.

I recommend this book to ANYONE who enjoys learning about fascinating topics becaus eit may seem daunting at the beginning but once into this book i guarantee you will love it.

Enjoy, this is great literature! xxx
Rizzo (02/28/05)

Read in one sitting! Aweswome book!
Anonymous (02/15/05)

Hi all
This book is one hell of a read and i had a tough time putting it down.The plot is exceptionally well
and the characterization is extrordinary.Brown has handled the plot well with an amalgam of science and intrigue.So this book is highly recommended
  • Page
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
by Gabrielle Zevin

Published Apr. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.