Reader reviews and comments on The Amber Spyglass, plus links to write your own review.

Summary |  Excerpt |  Reading Guide |  Reviews |  Readalikes |  Genres & Themes |  Author Bio

The Amber Spyglass

His Dark Materials - Book III

By Philip Pullman

The Amber Spyglass
  • Critics' Opinion:

    Readers' Opinion:

  • Hardcover: Oct 2000,
    400 pages.
    Paperback: Oct 2001,
    480 pages.

    Publication Information

  • Rate this book


Buy This Book

About this Book

Reviews

Page 1 of 4
There are currently 30 reader reviews for The Amber Spyglass
Order Reviews by:

Write your own review!

Book Freak (01/11/10)

Life and Love goes on
I absolutely adore this book. In fact, I own it! I love this book for its emotional trauma of how life and love move on even after the most terrible blows. I recommend this book to anyone who has a giving heart and is awed by the possibility different worlds around you.
Lindsey (08/19/08)

Great Book!
This book was very very good I have read the whole Harry Potter Books and many other fantasy book, he did a great job,my mom read it too .She cried at the end and I almost did, I couldn't put it down! Thumbs up!:-)If you haven't read the book,YOU NEED TO!!:-)
Starry (08/26/07)

Magic
Pullman's magical text, accompanied by a thrilling story, is one of the best (and saddest) books I have ever read. I was heartbroken and confused when I first finished the book, but now I recognize it as a spectacular novel.

Watching Lyra's innocence disappear was almost as exciting as everything else. Pullman has certainly got himself a space on the shelf next to Harry Potter, Narnia, and the Lord of the Rings. The book was thrilling and powerful. I do think, however, that the end was exceedingly heartbreaking. But, the book all in all was great! I finished The Amber Spyglass within 5 days, I could hardly put it down.

Mrs. Coulter's purpose, I think, was to provide a confusing and dark character. Her goodness and love of Lyra was fierce as her previous hate of children. I still can't figure out if Lord Asriel was truly good or bad. Pullman is a master of personality changes. Almost everyone changed in the book. Rowdy and crude Lyra changed to a serious adolescent. The characters that didn't change, in my opinion, are Pantalaimon and Mary Malone. The Mulefa, in my opinion, were VERY strange. What I love about this book is that every character has a purpose. Not many of the characters were likable. Will and Lyra were the only true likable characters. Balthamos and Baruch were also strange. The part with Father Gomez was unnecesary. And the end was depressing. But otherwise, I love this book. I wish i had a daemon!! What shape would yours take???
Big Girl0013 (08/14/07)

The Amber Spyglass
I think that the book "The Amber Spyglass" s a great book because Lyra and Will was at war rages and Dust drains from the sky, the fate of the living and the dead finally comes to depend on two children and the simple truth of one simple story. When I read the book to my brother he said that the book was a great because it was about an amazing book because it was about a different world and about two children.
Katie (07/30/07)

GREAT!!!
This was one of the best books I have ever read and I have read A LOT of books! It is also one of the saddest. I wish that there was a forth book!
Nell (07/05/07)

Good Read
I loved this book. My favorite is the the The Golden Compass which is the first in the series but this is still very good. It's not your average fantasy book. This is the most complicated book of the three. I was about 12 when I read it and some of scenery and concepts described were hard to understand so I would recomend this to readers 13 or 14 up.
Stephanie (06/27/07)

Disappointed and disturbed
I am a big fan of well-written fantasy books, such as the Narnia books, the Inheritance trilogy, and the Harry Potter books, but this book crossed a morel line it never should have crossed. I think it is disgraceful how a nation that claims to be Christian can be so easily swayed by some pretty words, when those words demean and debase the Creator. Not regarding religion, the plot does get quite frantic and the focus becomes scattered. The battle towards the end of the book that is meant to determine the fate of the world and the "death" of God was rushed and not deep at all. Also, the romantic involvement between Lyra and Will also seemed odd, since they were only 12 years old, and even if they can have feelings for each other, how could 12 year old children have feelings so deep and mature? Morally, I was outraged, and intellectually, I was not impressed. This book is NOT a winner.
Echo (02/17/05)

I would recommend the book to avid readers.

I personally didn't like it, I'm not much of a fantasy fan.

However, the plot is ok and the storyline is supportive.

The only problem is how the author defies God and his ideas and so forthe.

I'm Buddhist/Christian myself, but I wonder how other people get along with this book.
Member Benefits

Join Now!

Check the advantages!
Just $10 for 3 months or $35 for a year

    •  
    • FREE
    • MEMBER
    • Range of media reviews for each book
    • Excerpts of all featured books
    • Author bios, interviews and pronunciations
    • Browse by genre
    • Book club discussions
    • Book club advice and reading guides
    • BookBrowse reviews and "beyond the book" back-stories
    •  
    • Reviews of notable books ahead of publication
    •  
    • Free books to read and review (US Only)
    •  
    • Browse for the best books by time period, setting & theme
    •  
    • Read-alike suggestions for thousands of books and authors
    •  
    • 'My Reading List" to keep track of your books
    •  

Editor's Choice

  • Book Jacket: The Promise
    The Promise
    by Ann Weisgarber
    Canadian author, Lucy Maud Montgomery of Anne of Green Gables fame, once wrote that "...all things ...
  • Book Jacket: Black Moon
    Black Moon
    by Kenneth Calhoun
    The popularity of book-turned-movie World War Z and television series The Walking Dead points to a ...
  • Book Jacket: Hyde
    Hyde
    by Daniel Levine
    In Robert Louis Stevenson's 1886 novel, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, the story ends ...

First Impressions

Members read and review books ahead
of publication. See what they think
in First Impressions!

Books that
expand your
horizons.

Visitors can view a lot of BookBrowse for free. Full access is for members only

Find out more.

Book Discussions
Book Jacket

Sailor Twain
by Mark Siegel

Published Mar. 2014

Join the discussion!

Win this book!
Win The Steady Running of the Hour

The Steady Running of the Hour

"Exciting, emotionally engaging and ambitious. I loved it!" - Kate Mosse

Enter

Word Play

Solve this clue:

I T T O A Eye

and be entered to win..

Books thatinspire you.Handpicked.

Books you'll stay up all night reading; books that will whisk you to faraway places and times, books that will expand your mind and inspire you -- the kinds of books you just can't wait to tell your friends about.